Kara Jo Webb's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kara Jo’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • No occupation listed
  • Recent graduate
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To travel and meet lovely like minded people

ABOUT ME

I was born in England but grew up in rural North West Ireland. I am an enthusiastic optimist. I'm very much in love with the world and so far have found myself extremely lucky, i'm really enjoying life and it keeps throwing me good 'feels'.

I love Ireland and have had a great life here but now I want to travel and keep experiencing new things, sharing my ideas and interests with like minded people, so i'm leaving Ireland with a one way ticket to see what life throws at me.

I am definitely an easy going person, i consider myself to be pretty adaptable and would love to spend time with people experiencing new places from the inside, but can also be self sufficient and would be happy to spend time exploring alone. I like drinking/partying and hope to be able to let my hair down to some extent while away, that said I'm also a big fan of chilling out and want to spend a good deal of my time sober enough to experience new things and hopefully expand my understanding of the world.

PHILOSOPHY

I am passionate about life, I want to explore and experience all of the wonders it has to offer.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

At the moment I am living in Toronto Canada and live in a shared house where I cannot unfortunately accommodate anyone. :( Hopefully I will be moving to a more open house a little later in the year though. I plan to be traveling around Canada and the States for a bit this autumn and would love to find like minded lovely folks to spend time with.

Interests

I like coffee, i like reading out-loud, i like feeling connected to those around me, i like sharing ideas and getting excited about them, i love halloumi cheese, i like walking and exploring, in town or in the countryside, i love animals, i love the sun but also the rain, i like to think about all the tiny bits of matter that make up the world, i like to smile, i sometimes like crafty stuff like knitting or drawing. I like that i live in the time of the internet, i love that the combined weight of all the ants in the world is greater than that of all the people because it adds perspective, i love dancing, and i love to type (something about the way the keys click), I love Walt Whitman and poets that write about the natural world.

  • animals
  • make up
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • cheese
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • walking
  • partying
  • drinking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • drawing

Music, Movies, and Books

I am very much into film, and consider myself to have a very varied taste. I love small indie films and blockbusters. Some of the films I've enjoyed lately are Nebraska, Boyhood, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, It's a Wonderful Life, Spirited Away, The Intouchables, Blade Runner, The Grand Budapest Hotel, Tideland, Todo Sobre Mi Madre. The list could just go on and on.

I love listening to music, talk radio (usually BBC radio 4)and podcasts. My favourite podcasts are Kermode and Mayo's Wittertainment, This American Life, Radiolab, Love and Radio, Front Row, Arts and Ideas, Memory Palace, Hello Internet.

My favourite music changes all the time but at the moment is Arctic Monkeys, Bonobo, Kygo, FKA Twigs, The National, Flume, Purity Ring, Santigold, Alt-J, The Weeknd, Blood Orange, Radiohead, James Blake, London Grammar, La Dispute, Emancipator.

I also love reading and I don't think there is any particular type of book I could limit myself to. Books that I've enjoyed recently are Vurt by Jeff Noon, The Colour by Rose Tremain, Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, The Book on the Taboo Against Knowing Who You Are by Alan Watts (I completely love Alan Watts, philosopher/writer), I really could go on all day listing books that I love.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have some Spanish but would love the opportunity to learn more. I like cooking vegetarian food and I don't mind tidying. I like animals and would be happy to help out with them if you have them. I'm also a pretty fast learner so if there is anything that I can help out with I'd be more than happy to.

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Germany, Greece, Haiti, Malaysia, Mexico, Portugal, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Ireland, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Kara Jo’s full profile. It’s free!