Karen Golec

Pickle Lake, Ontario, Canada

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Karen’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Administrative Assistant (aka secretary)
  • Loads of post-secondary but nary a diploma/degree to be seen
  • From Nova Scotia
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


Learning more than I ever wanted to know about the environmental obligations of a home-owner.


I'm pretty laid back, curious, friendly and I work too much. However, that's how I pay for my travels when I do get to go. I used to work seasonally and travelled extensively, backpacker style, but I have a "real" job now and I'm limited to a maximum of four weeks at a time.


Pickle Lake may be a tiny, dusty, little blip on the map (if it even shows up at all) but I think it would be a shame to visit Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver and think that you've seen Canada. Those are all amazing cities and I love to visit each and every one but Canada is also about wide open prairies, the rocky shores of Lake Superior and dense Boreal Forest interspersed with clear, unpolluted lakes and rivers.

Pickle Lake is not everyone's cup of tea and it is definitely off the beaten track but whether you are from far off Africa or just down the road in Thunder Bay, why not expand your horizons and come on up?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've only had one "formal" couchsurfing experience but have crashed at random friends' homes over the years and hope to do some more Couchsurfing. I'm looking forward to hosting.


Budget travel (of course), folk music, folk festivals, naturism, theatre, sea kayaking, reading, curling, internet, cats, learning, swimming

Music, Movies, and Books

I love to read travel books or fictional books set in other towns, countries, continents as well as historical fiction and non-fiction and far too many trashy romances. I'm also a big fan of well-written crime novels like those of Kathy Reichs and Minette Walters.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One of the coolest things I've done was simply to sit in a Guatemalan cave near Languin as dusk was falling. The bats started to rouse as the sun went down and at first they meandered by one or two at a time but eventually there were several at a time, then dozens - stirring our hair as they swooped by on their way out of the cave. Very cool! Had we been allowed to stay later there would have been hundreds but the park was closing and we were escorted out.

Another amazing thing I've done is to arrive at a field of fumaroles (geysers) before dawn on a Chilean mountain and watch/feel the activity as the sun started to warm the ground and activate the fumaroles. There were dozens of small ones popping, and steaming and fizzing ... the clouds of steam were so thick that you felt alone in a fog. Awesome.

Teach, Learn, Share

If you make it up on a warm, summer weekend, I'll gather some friends and we can go tubing on the Kawinogans River. It's a small, remote river and it takes about 1.5-2 hours to drift lazily down through the four small sets of rapids and the flat stretches. It's a local treasure that doesn't cost a penny apart from the cost of the raft/tube and I usually have a few extras lying around the yard or can borrow some. On rare occasions you can see moose or otters on the river.

I can also lend you a kayak and a canoe to go paddling on one of the local lakes. Fishing is very popular here but I'm the wrong one to ask about the best spots. :-P

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Italy, Malta, Netherlands, Panama, Peru, Poland, Russian Federation, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland, Tunisia, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Karen’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups