Karen Ritland's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Karen’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • No languages listed
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • I am between working for an environmental non-profit and ...
  • I attended Colorado College where I studied Environmental...
  • From Quechee, Vermont USA
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My mission in life is to explore. I'm spending my year in California, and my plan is to see a good chunk of the northwest on my bicycle! I am planning to peddle myself from Seattle to San Francisco or Truckee.

ABOUT ME

I am a 24 year old, adventure seeking, nature lover! I have spent my years learning about the environment formally at school, and through playing in it. Whether it is backpacking, paddling, peddling, climbing, or running, I will do it as a means to explore the world around me. My next big step in life is to move to Panama and do Environmental Education with the Peace Corps, to share my love and passion for the environment around us.

PHILOSOPHY

All good things in life are wild and free.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love people, coffee, exercise, beer, and the world around me. I am fighting the environmental fight as much as I can, and I am waiting tables on the side to be able to work those jobs that mean the world to me, but don't do a lot for my bank account. If I'm not out on an adventure, I'm already planning my next one.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have met some amazing people over the years by sleeping on their couches! I live with six people and understand the dynamics of functioning in a house with a lot of people who have different plans and goals and passions.

Interests

Trail running, sea kayaking, bike touring, rock climbing, baking chocolate chip cookies, pottery, reading about adventures, making absurd plans and making them reality, dried mangoes, backpacking, climbing anything climbable, coffee shops.

  • education
  • environment
  • dining
  • chocolate
  • beer
  • coffee
  • baking
  • exercise
  • running
  • drinking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • pottery
  • cycling
  • backpacking
  • kayaking
  • trail running
  • rock climbing
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm always looking for good reads and good listening and open to almost anything.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I jumped off a bridge 54 feet above a river in a banana suit.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always interested in learning about more sustainable ways of living, ways to eat more delicious and healthy food, great adventures I must go on during my lifetime, and ideas from different people with different perspectives. I can teach people about the environment, constellations, traveling and moving a lot, drinking coffee, and random tidbits like Thai.

Join Couchsurfing to see Karen’s full profile. It’s free!