Logo orange

Karla Elliott

Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Maybe Accepting Guests

66% response rate · Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Karla's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 35 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Russian, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • PhD student/English teacher/editor/p...
  • Honours Social Sciences Degree from ...
  • From Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learn more languages

ABOUT ME

After spending 2 years in Berlin travelling, hanging out and working as an English teacher I'm now back in Melbourne writing my PhD. It's been hard to adjust back to a 9-5 kind of life, but the sunshine and the amazing food in Melbourne has definitely helped!

PHILOSOPHY

Honesty is actually the most important policy.
And there's no point to life unless you're happy.
And personally there's no point to my life unless I'm helping someone or making a difference somewhere.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I originally joined CS when I moved to Berlin to meet new people. Since then I've made some amazing, lifelong friends through couch surfing and have surfed with some incredibly fun and interesting people in Europe. I even got a job through a couch surfer and a free trip to Siberia! Couch surfers have done so much for me, so I'm always eager to give back and host/help other surfers out.

I also still love to meet people who want to be friends, who want to just hang out, who I can practice my German, Spanish or Russian with, or who want to practice English with me.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've now been lucky enough to stay with some amazing CouchSurfers in countries all over Europe and to catch up with lots of others for drinks or just to hang out. I've met so many great people through CouchSurfing and had so much fun with them. Without CouchSurfing I wouldn't be nearly as in love with Berlin as I am. I also wouldn't have met some of the most important people in my life or got my current awesome job.

Interests

I love writing, that's what I'd like to have a career in eventually. I also love reading, watching movies and eating (too much). I love animals, especially cats and fish. I also like going out and having fun.

Music, Movies & Books

I listen to all kinds of music and I play the piano. I read lots of books too.

Favourite movie: The Labyrinth
Favourite TV show: 6 feet under, without a doubt!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Traveled around Europe with my sister for 3 1/2 months. That covers a lot of amazing things, but it really was probably the greatest thing I've ever done with my life.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you to knit! And to play the piano. I'm a pretty good teacher actually.
I also really want to improve my German while I'm in Berlin. It's not too bad but it could be a lot better.
Plus I've started working on my Spanish again which I love.

Countries I've Visited

Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Russian Federation, Slovenia, Spain, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Karla's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile