Karli Pikala's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Karli’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Server/ Bartender
  • University of Minnesota
  • From Minneapolis, MN, USA
  • Profile 45% complete

About Me

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I got on Couchsurfing as a resource for traveling through South America with my husband. We love meeting new people and learning about other cultures. We feel that Couchsurfing provides a unique service in that it gives you the opportunity to meet locals, and therefore get to know the people and culture of the area better and it also provides for authentic cultural exchange. We hope that when we return to the states that we will be able to provide that same service to others as well!

Interests

Spanish, cooking, food, eating, gardening, cultural exchange, travel, socializing and meeting new people, music, live music, movies

  • culture
  • dining
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • live music
  • guitar
  • toefl
  • language exchange

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I'm a fan of nearly every genre depending on my mood but grew up listening to folky type stuff, We listened to Neil Young, John Prine, Bob Dylan, Cat Stevens, Nick Drake and Ted Hawkins as well as classics like Paul Simon, The Beatles and Fleetwood Mac. Lately I've been listening to Shovels and Rope and a lot of my friends' bands in Minneapolis as well as a local band we met in Buenos Aires, Ojo con el Humo. And I can never get sick of The Pixies. Only to name a few!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I recently saw Las Salinas Grandes just outside of Salta, Argentina and they were stunning. The most amazing thing I've done is quit my job to travel around South America with my husband. We are about a month in and learning so much along the way. We are loving it!

Teach, Learn, Share

I have been on a long journey to learn Spanish and would love to practice more through Couchsurfing! Learning Spanish has been one of the most frustrating things I've tried to do, but is also one of the most rewarding. Right now my Spanish is very rusty, but I have made it a life long goal to become fluent someday. In college I took classes on how to teach English as a second language and have my toefl certificate. As a second language learner I know how difficult it can be. I'm happy to practice English and can provide suggestions for pronunciation or other aspects of the language if desired.

I also love to share music as I think it is so integral to who we are as people. I love live music and play a little, (very little) guitar, but also just like to listen to new music that others find enjoyable. I seriously love music and am open to all genres! I am continuously surprised at whatever I find pleasing to my ear, you just never know!

Last thing is food! In my family we always ate dinner together and I feel this time cooking and eating together strengthens relationships. My family loves food whether it's just pizza or a gourmet meal, we just love to eat and see what's going to taste good that day. I'm not a great cook but I can always help in the kitchen or cook a meal. I also love serving others and I feel cooking for people is a great way to do that.

What I Can Share with Hosts

The first thing I can offer hosts is a positive and optimistic attitude who is always willing to help with whatever is needed, such as cooking or cleaning or just offering a hand. To offer up your home to a stranger is an amazing thing and I would love to be able to show my gratitude by helping in any way possible! As mentioned above, I can also offer language exchange and am always game to cook a meal.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Guatemala, Mexico, Morocco, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Karli’s full profile. It’s free!