Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 18 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Karl’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 29 References 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, German, Guaraní, Portuguese
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Always Learning
  • UCSD
  • From Rohnert Park, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


My girlfriend Rachel and I both grew up in California. We met abroad in South America and have continued traveling and living together for the last 5 years :)

We currently live in Oakland, CA with our Paraguayan dog and 3 wonderful friends.

I'm addicted to traveling and I love languages.

I build websites, and I wish I thought of starting couchsurfing because it's the best. Check out my (largely abandoned) website:


Do what you want!
Haga lo que quieres!
Mach was du willst!
Faire ce que tu veux!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have hosted some people with a roommate before I got my own CS account, and I am excited to host more people in the future. I also made many friends around Europe in summer 2009, and in Buenos Aires near the end of 2010. I hosted a few times in Tahoe in 2011, and surfed (unofficially) with Peace Volunteers all over South & Central America in 2012.

I also evangelize the project regularly!


I lived in an "International House" in San Diego which had about 100 foreigners as residents. During breaks, when everyone wanted to travel, I hosted as many as 12 of them at a time in my family home near San Francisco.

That's what got me started...


Technology, Gymnastics, Frisbee, Go, Cycling, Rock Climbing, Snowboarding, Film, Languages!

  • technology
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • snowboarding
  • rock climbing
  • gymnastics
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Way too much to list for any of the three categories, let alone when combined.

Movies: Kaufman & Coen Brothers
Books: Non-fiction, mostly
Music: katchafire, kraak en smaak

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I traveled from Patagonia back home to San Francisco, California without setting foot on an airplane.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have tons of random skills to share. Maybe I can help exchange languages, too.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Time and chats and laughs and hopefully friendship.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Guatemala, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Spain, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Paraguay, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    4 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Karl’s full profile. It’s free!