Logo orange

KatDarby's Groups

KatDarby

Plymouth, Devon, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see KatDarby's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 7 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Bulgarian, French
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • No occupation listed
  • Degree
  • From Bournemouth, UK
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To gain happy memories and to be a happy memory :)

ABOUT ME

A fundamentally happy person, I love meeting new people, learning about new cultures and languages, and hearing peoples' story.

I am a great listener, I will happily listen to your story for hours, I love finding out where people have come from and where they hope to be in the future.

Sometimes I can seem quiet, but this is usually because I don't talk unless I have something to say. I also love long conversations with open-minded, curious people.

I want to be able to say, when I am an old lady, that I have seen most of the world, but that is was the people I met along the way who made those experiences so special.

PHILOSOPHY

I just aim to be happy in life, and I am happy. I have never been a person that says "I will be happy when I earn X amount of money/when I have this job/when I live here", I've always aimed to be happy in the present moment, and to help people out, and bring them some happiness whenever I can :)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Right now I can't offer a couch due to where I am living, but I hope to be able to soon. In the meantime I am happy and enthusiastic to meet people coming to my city , and to meet for coffee/drinks etc. In August 2012 I will be taking a 3 week trip round Eastern Europe, and I hope to do as much couch surfing as possible!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I actually haven't CouchSurfed yet, but seeing the amazing experiences and friendships my friends have had by doing this, I am so excited to start!

Interests

I love meeting new people, learning about their cultures and language, and hearing their story. Apart from that, I also play the drums (badly), enjoy running (long distance), and enjoy baking and cooking (and eating!).

Music, Movies & Books

My favourite movie ever is Das Lieben der Anderen (The Lives of Others), it's one of those movies that stays with you forever after you've seen it.
After that, I enjoy all kinds of films, but some of my favourites are: Amelie; Juno; 10 Things I Hate About You (it was my "growing up" film!) and Leon.

As for books, I like both factual and fictional books, as I like learning about other cultures and histories, so I enjoy reading books about that, and I also like the classics, Shakespeare, Austin etc. I also like mysteries and thrillers.

I honestly enjoy all types of music, from rock to rap to classical. I think that music is the truly international language. I love live music, it doesn't even have to be a famous band or artist, it just puts me in such a good mood.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

The kindness of strangers never fails to amaze me (on too many occasions to list), and many of these strangers have ended up becoming friends.

Teach, Learn, Share

First and foremost, I am always super happy to help people with their English skills, if they want it.

Other than that, I guess I could teach you some basic drumming (if there is a kit available :P) or how to ice a mean cake :)

Countries I've Visited

Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, France, Ireland, Kenya, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Slovenia, Sweden, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see KatDarby's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile