Kate Cairnie's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kate’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Organic farmer/teaching assistant/social worker/yet to be...
  • BA in English Literature, working on an MA in Social Work
  • From Haida Gwaii, British Columbia
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Exploring more of this fascinating country I was born into.

ABOUT ME

I'm a 28-year-old woman, recently moved up to Fort Providence, NT, to be a teaching assistant in the school. Still adjusting but definitely enjoying it so far! I grew up in small towns in Northern BC. Before coming up here I was part of a small organic farm co-operative near Chase BC, a community which is very important to me and which I'm still involved with. I've done some traveling - I'd like to do a lot more - I've done quite a bit of schooling - pretty tired of it but I'll probably still end up doing more. I like being outside and being active, I'm looking forward to getting into snow-showing & cross-country skiing, and to seeing more of the Northwest Territories!

PHILOSOPHY

Live and let live.
Or something like that.
Just trying to be relaxed and non-judgmental and not worry too much about where life takes me, or interpersonal relations.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I could probably offer a couch in the trailer I'm living in if someone is coming to Fort Providence for some reason...would need to run it by my roommates, but if you are going to be in this town please do ask! I'd like to participate in couchsurfing to get to know people in this area, and I might need a place to stay once in a while in Yellowknife, I'd like to spend some weekends there are get to know the place.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I couchsurfed while I was traveling through Mexico, had some great experiences, and sometimes ended up staying with someone for quite a while!

Interests

Camping, reading, growing food, cooking, music, being outside, learning to play the mandolin, playing the piano, hiking, learning snow-shoeing & cross-country skiing, baking bread, traveling, animals of all kinds, getting to know people, making things from scratch, living off the land, having new experiences, learning how to teach at this school I'm at and get to know this community, studying counseling psychology, learning things in general

  • animals
  • dining
  • cooking
  • baking
  • running
  • flying
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • homesteading
  • music
  • piano
  • hiking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • psychology

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm really into books. I read a LOT. I also enjoy movies. I often like movies that are "weird" or have subtitles. I'm pretty into music, I listen to pretty much everything and I'm currently learning how to play the mandolin.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The flight up here to the Northwest Territories was pretty amazing (the plane was flying really low).
This question is hard for me to answer for some reason....
A very beautiful thing I've seen: Fushimi-Inari shrine in Japan. A path lined with red torii gates winding for miles up a mountain, stone fox statues and no one else around.

I lived in a fairly isolated intentional community for 3 years and have not gone mad. That is pretty amazing I'd say!

Teach, Learn, Share

I find it interesting to meet people with different interests and lifestyles from mine (although of course it is always nice when we have stuff in common!)
Anyone up here who is into organic farming, homesteading, community living--- or doing something in that respect in this area--- I would be very interested in talking with them.

Countries I’ve Visited

Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Japan, Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kate’s full profile. It’s free!