Katharine Keogan

Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 30 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katharine’s full profile. It’s free!


  • explorer
  • Conservation Biology
  • From Dublin, Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Explore Scotland, make new friends, turn Edinburgh into my second home.


I just moved to Scotland to try something new. Why not?! Sometimes I like to sit in little coffee shops and eat cake and read a book and not think about going anywhere. Mostly, I like being on the move. I'm an adventurer with maps all over my walls. I try to be as ecologically minded as possible, produce little waste and not leave too much of a mark. That being said, I definitely drink too much coffee. Buzz buzz! I love anything to do with the outdoors - mostly bird watching (although with my eyesight it's usually guessing!), but can't wait to explore the beautiful Scottish countryside. What's better than taking a tent and hiking boots out into the wilderness!

I love meeting new people and having fun, and music makes me probably the happiest I can be! Live music, live comedy, spoken word nights, anything and everything - I love doing things and rarely say no to a hair brained scheme that involves fun with friends. Dancing is probably my favourite way to spend a night, but can be completely satisfied with just chilling or hanging out too; if I had to be an animal I'd say chameleon because I can pretty much suit any occasion!


Life has no template, so you definitely need to get out there and make your own, it's DIY! I try to make the most of the little moments throughout my day and be happy with what I have. Not always easy, but definitely a good start on the road to happiness. Sometimes I lie in bed at night and I'm so excited for tomorrow that I can't sleep :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


In Dublin, I've hosted loads of people and made some great new friends. I love showing people my city, it's a really great one! I've surfed too, and really love being welcomed into people's homes like a long lost friend. I always try to learn something about the people I meet and it's really opened my mind - there are a lot of interesting worldviews out there!


I've only had good ones, I think couch surfing is an amazing way to make friends and meet wonderful people :)


Ooh I have tonnes of interests!

I like watching birds, dancing to lovely loud music, sometimes mellowing to music that doesn't do anything but chill you out. LOVE planning trips and taking trips, although I plan a great deal more trips than I actually ever take..

I can snowboard, although I'm no Shaun White. I like watching documentaries and learning new things, exploring, reading silly books, and occasionally reading deep and meaningful books too.

I don't like watering plants so much, but I like what happens when they have been watered (mostly the part where you get to eat lovely fruit and vegetables!), so I suppose I'm interested in that too!

Music, Movies, and Books

I like my music LOUD! Into most electro and dubstep/drum and bass, but adore classical and jazz too and always up for listening to something new. Ska, reggae, funk, balkan and anything with trumpets or a big brass section. Different music for different moods I guess!
When there's no loud music, I like books that leave me with more information than I had before I started!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Drank sake with a Japanese guy for an entire night, using only the English/Japanese dictionary on his mobile phone for communication!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to make a mean vegetarian shepherd's pie. Nom.

I'd like to learn French and Spanish, please help!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Germany, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Latvia, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Poland, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, Ireland, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Katharine’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups