Katherine G's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katherine’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Student
  • College
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Finish school. Become a Registered Dietician-Nutritionist. Start traveling again.

ABOUT ME

If I had to choose one experience in my life that has defined me, it would be my first solo backpacking trip (July 2014). After I returned home in October 2014, I knew that it would be difficult for me to stay in one spot for long. My second trip was from February 2015-July 2015. Now that I'm back in school that sort of long term travel has been put on hold. I keep myself sane with short trips here and there. My last one was to Playa del Carmen, Mexico in November 2016.

Once school is done, I plan on weaving long term travel into my career.

I'm a slow traveler. I prefer not to have to hop around from place to place, seeing this monument or that temple. I just like traveling for the sake of traveling.

PHILOSOPHY

If what you're currently doing in life isn't making you happy, why are you wasting your time with it?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Unfortunately, I can't host right now but I can go to events.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My first couchsurfing experience turned out to be one of the highlights of my first trip through Southeast Asia. Since I had nothing else to base it on, I wasn't sure what to expect. My host in Kuala Lumpur turned out to be awesome! He was welcoming and gracious, always looking to include me in whatever he and his friends were doing. I had such an awesome time that I'm probably going to use couchsurfing for all the rest of my travels. It's such a unique way of meeting people that I feel like my trips would be missing something without it.

Interests

When I arrive in a new city, I usually just pick a direction and start walking. Walking without a specific destination in mind is one of the best ways to discover something new. When I'm at home, I spend my time going to concerts, parks, and cooking. I'm becoming quite the chef. When I'm not doing any of those things I'll probably be visiting friends, traipsing around New York City, or researching a country I'd like to visit.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: The Airborne Toxic Event, The Joy Formidable, The Naked and Famous, Electric Guest, We Were Promised Jetpacks, Devotchka, Frightened Rabbit and Florence + the Machine are a few of the bands I listen to.

Books: The Harry Potter Series-J.K. Rowling, Le Père Goriot-Honoré de Balzac, Tartuffe-Molière, A Tale of Two Cities-Charles Dickens, Brave New World-Aldous Huxley, The Library of Mont Char- Scott Hawkins are among the many

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Visiting an entire city built underground on my trip to Turkey is definitely at the top of my list for now! I love old historical sites like that. You can close your eyes and imagine how it was to live hundreds or even thousands of years ago.
Explored a cave in Khao Sok National Park, Thailand. In some parts the water was up to my shoulders. I'm slowly starting to conquer my fears. (I don't like going into water where I can't see the bottom).

Teach, Learn, Share

I've been doing a lot of research on healthy eating. I'd love to prepare one of my meals for a potential host. Even though I'm going to be on the road, I'm determined to not let my health suffer! Not that I don't indulge every once in a while but I try to get my fruits and vegetables as much as possible. Currently, I've been trying to pick up some French. I studied it in high school but forgot almost everything since I haven't used it since. I'm planning on going to France and eventually becoming fluent. If any host would like help with their English, I would gladly do so in exchange for help with my French.

What I Can Share with Hosts

If you like, I can cook for any potential hosts. It's something I rather enjoy doing but don't get to do much when I'm on the road.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Cambodia, England, France, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Katherine’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups