Kathi Ward's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kathi’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Swahili
  • 59, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • housewife/part time teacher
  • BA, English Lit, Seattle Pacific University
  • From Asia, Africa, Europe
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

Considering most of my life has been lived as an expatriate, I still like to wander the world and explore new cities, cultures and get to know new people.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My three children have also caught the travel bug from me, and the youngest, Caleb, is sailing on a Semester at Sea voyage right now. He has asked me to assist in locating safe places to stay in various ports. This week I am looking in Tokyo for a place.


Travel, photography, writing, Bernese Mountain dogs, reading, and hiking.

  • dogs
  • culture
  • writing
  • photography
  • reading
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • skydiving

Music, Movies, and Books

Classic soft rock like Crosby Stills Nash, Barry Manilow, John Denver; songs you can sing along to.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Three years ago I surprised my daughter on her 21st birthday when I bought a skydiving jump for both of us! No one expected that of me; I've also been on 6 different continents and hope to get to the 7th one day :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I enjoy reading and editing papers and research projects, helping young children learn, and finding out how people live in other parts of the world. I believe I'm pretty good at trip planning and I often help friends put itineraries together and make things happen. After 30 years in East Africa, certainly I would be able to answer questions and encourage interest in Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda. Also as a recent newcomer to Canada, I know how it feels to be waiting forever on immigration documents, and trying to fit into a new place.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would be helpful and responsible, respecting another culture and ask lots of questions. I would be interested in their guidance and suggestions as to what I should see and experience in their city/country. And I would happily share my knowledge and experiences of the places I have visited and enjoyed.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Botswana, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, England, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malawi, Malaysia, Mauritius, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Northern Ireland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Rwanda, Scotland, Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany, Ghana, Kenya, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kathi’s full profile. It’s free!