Katie Farrand's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 17 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Zulu
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Traveller :)
  • B.Com (Economics)
  • From Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

My name is Katie! I grew up in Johannesburg, and my favourite colour is yellow. I graduated at the end of last year from the University of Cape Town. I decided to take a year to do some global exploring :) I am currently living on Catalina Island, California, working at a summer camp. I am planning to travel around USA and then through central America in September - December. Before this, I lived in Kigali, Rwanda. (this is in East Africa). I did an internship at a small business development firm.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My year of exploring requires some cheap accommodation! Im planning to take a trip through East Africa in April, and it would be great to meet some local people! When I get to 'Merca in June; I definitely won't be able to afford accommodation in California. The South African Rand is tanking thanks to our president, so traveling in Cali is going to be expensive! Couch surfing is definitely the best option for me :)

Interests

  • dancing
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • sleeping
  • learning new things
  • talking
  • adventuring
  • making friends
  • hiphop
  • drinking beer

Music, Movies, and Books

Hip hop is my favourite genre - Tribe Called Quest never gets old. Other favourites include: Chance The Rapper, Childish Gambino, King Kendrick, Asher Roth, Wiz Khalifa.

Some South African artists for you to check out - AKA, Beatenburg, Crazy White Boy, Liquideep

I like historical fiction books mostly, and movies? I don't really watch movies - I don't know why, but I always fall asleep haha.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I started a non-profit organisation back in South Africa, where we assist small business owners from informal settlements! Its called Phaphama Small Enterprise Development Initiative - check out our Facebook page!

What I Can Share with Hosts

My optimism, positivity & my food :) I talk a lot and I like to learn about new places. Im always looking for new friends with different perspectives.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, Botswana, China, Croatia, England, France, Greece, Kenya, Mauritius, Montenegro, Scotland, Tanzania, Uganda, United States, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Rwanda, South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Katie’s full profile. It’s free!