Logo orange

Luna Zhang

Somerville, MA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

100% response rate · Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Luna's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 75 Positive References
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning Italian
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Project Manager / Graphic Designer
  • Schools, travels, and life
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

A larger state of being.

ABOUT ME

So far I have lived in:
Zhengzhou, China
Tianjin, China
Torino, Italy
Ithaca, NY, USA
Boston(Brighton, Cambridge, Somerville, Woburn), MA, USA

"I climbed a mountain
Not knowing that I had
Thought it was just a road from A to B
I took no protection
Not much of anything
Just went as I was
Looking in windows
And playing songs and knocking on doors
I was not scared
I just enjoyed the sights
Kept myself to myself

There I was, sitting on the roof of the world
Not knowing how I got there
Or how to leave"

-Dido "sitting on the roof of the world"

PHILOSOPHY

"Mr. Eames, what are the boundaries of Design?"
"What are the boundaries of problems?"
--Charles Eames, Design Q&A, 1972

Freedom means I may not be identified as any one group, but that I can visit and find myself in every group.
- Eve Ensler

I need mavericks, dissidents, adventurers, outsiders and rebels, who ask questions, bend the rules and take risks. Nice people with common sense do not make interesting characters. They only make good former spouses.
-Isabel Allende

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Sometimes I feel I am asking too much from the world, and I would absolutely love to give something back whenever I can.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

AS A SURFER

SPAIN
Genny and Ingo in Barcelona, 11/2009
Havier, in Arrecife, 01/2010
ITALY
Angelo, in Bergamo, 03/2010
Egidio and all his friends, in Genova, 05/2010 and 06/2010
Claudio, in Savona, 06/2010
LUXEMBOURG
Katalina, in Luxembourg, 03/2010
POLAND
Natalie and Pawel, in Warsaw, 03/2010
Ania, in Krakow, 03/2010
CZECH REPUBLIC
Ales, in Prague, 03/2010
SLOVAKIA
Luba, in Bratislava, 03/2010
SWEDEN
Timea, in Nykoping, 04/2010
Fredrik, in Stockholm, 04/2010
Annika and her family, in Nykoping, 04/2010
FRANCE
Nicolas, in Marseille, 07/2010
Ran, in Paris,07/2010 and 08/2010
BELGIUM
Wim, in Antewerpen, 07/2010
NETHERLANDS
Neel&Ted and their family, in Texel, 07/2010
SWITZERLAND
Leonard ,in Lausanne,07/2010
GERMANY
Helga&Adrian , in Bavaria, 07/2010
AUSTRIA
Miguel , in Vienna, 07/2010
CHINA
Silvia, in Hangzhou, China, 09/2010
Sabrina&Gilles, in Beijing, China, 06/2011
USA: NY, MA, PA, MD, CO, AZ, VA, NC
Alan&Jon, in New York City, 01/2012
Suzanne, in New York City, 01/2012
Katka, in New York City, 01/2012
Devjeet, in Philadelphia, PA, 03/2012
Tiantian, in Philadelphia, PA, 03/2012
Yinzi, in Baltimore, MD 03/2012
Khoula and Atiq, in Arlington, MA, 07/2012
Dana, in Albany, NY, 08/2012
Joan, in Many Farms, AZ, 12/2012
Nate, in Flagstaff, AZ, 12/2012-01/2013
Randy, in Flagstaff, AZ, 01/2013
Ashley, in Tucson, AZ, 01/2013
Jedi, in Richmond, VA, 07/2013
Julianne, in Raleigh, NC, 07/2013
Trish and Graham, in Kitty Hawk, NC, 07/2013
Laurie, in Annapolis, MD, 07/2013
Gary and Peggy, in Silver Spring, MD, 12/2013
Ryan, in NYC, 08/2014

AS A HOST:

ITALY -

(Turin)co-hosted Fan, from Lecco, 02/2010
(Turin )hosted Yue, from Rome, 04/2010
(Turin)co-hosted Imogen, from Melbourne, 05/2010
(Turin)co-hosted Yuki, from Milano, 05/2010
(Turin)co-hosted Sinead, from Tasmania, 05/2010
(Turin)co-hosted Adam, walking all the way from Paris(and from England!), 06/2010
(Turin)co-hosted Agi&Marci, from Budapest, 07/2010

CHINA-

(Zhengzhou) Showed around Branka and her family from Paris, 08/ 2010
(Tianjin) showed around Chang, from Berlin, 09/2010
(Tianjin)hosted Coy and Changchuan from Beijing, 04/2011
(Tianjin)hosted Wenli and Shasha from Jinzhou, 04/2011
(Tianjin)hosted Yura, from Russia, 04/2011
(Tianjin)hosted Hannah from England, 04/2011
(Tianjin)hosted Marta from Catalonia, from 04/2011 to 06/2011.
(@Tianjin)hosted Liu Hong from Shijiazhuang, 05/2011

USA-

(Chicago) hosted Ramona from Zurich, 02/2012.
(Ithaca) hosted Vi from Boston, 04/2012 and 06/2012
(Ithaca) hosted Irene from Nanning, 06/2012
(Ithaca) hosted Wei from Sweden, 01/2013
(Ithaca) hosted Kivril from China/NYC, 03/2013
(Ithaca) hosted Mauricio from Brazil, 06/2013
(Ithaca) hosted Margaret and Kevin from KA/PA, 07/2013
(Ithaca) hosted Molly from AZ, 08/2013
(Boston) hosted Jan from Germany 01/2014
(Boston) hosted Mike from Beijing/OH, 02/2014
(Boston) hosted Alessandro from Norway/Sweden/Italy, 03/2014
(Boston) hosted Lin from NYC/China, 03/2014
(Boston) hosted Coty from Argentina, 06/2014
(Boston) hosted Tjasa from Slovenia, 09/2014
(Boston) hosted Amaia and Nico from Spain, 09/2014

I HAVE ALSO HANGED OUT WITH THESE CS-ERS:

(@Boston, Bologna, Lugo, Pesaro, Genova, Terruso, Rome, Riccione, Firenze, Prague, Lisbon, Lagos, etc.,etc.) Nicola , my boyfriend.
(@Turin, Tianjin, Beijing, Milan, Genova, Terruso, Barcelona, Madrid, Granada, Venezia, Stockholm, Pesaro, Riccione, Roma, Boston etc.) Xiaowei (Vivi), best friends and we have done a lot of couchsuring/hosting/meeting people together.
(@Turin, Hangzhou, Shanghai, Riccione) Silvia, from 01/2010 till now, still best friends
(@Turin) Marco , Giorgia, Anna, from 03/2010 to 07/2010
(@Bratislava) Milan, 03/2010
(@Turin) Adam, good friends and neighbors, from 03/2010 to 07/2010
(@Krakow, Prague) Sema, 03/2010
(@Marseille and Valensole) Helena, Dominique, 07/2010 and again in 12/2013
(@De Koog) Sophia, 07/2010
(@Tianjin and Beijing) Valeria, from 04/2011 to 07/2011
(@Beijing) Lidia, from 05/2011 to 06/2011
(@Tianjin) Bea, from 06/2011 to 07/2011
(@Tianjin and Shanghai) Haoyang, from 06/2011 to 07/2011
(@Tianjin) Ming, 07/2011
(@New York) Pedro and Marcos, 01/2012
(@Washington DC) Audrey and Susie, 03/2012
(@NYC, Boston, Prague) Katka, 07/2012
(@Boston) Guido, 08/2012
(@Boston, Durango) Austin, 08, 10, 11/2012
(@Many Farms) Kris, 12/2012
(A Road Trip in the South West USA) Crystal, 12/2012-01/2013
(@Raleigh) Rohan, 07/2013
(@Durham) Cristian, 07/2013
(@Raleigh) Casey, 07/2013
(@Ithaca) Josh, 07/2013
(@DC) Milica, 12/2013

Interests

Nature and animals, photography, languages, reading, conversing, carpentry, drawing, cooking, yoga, hiking, biking.

A few things to cross out from my bucket list:
learn to fly an airplane, drive cross africa and western asia, farm in south-america, live in more countries, visit Molise, learn more languages (I aim to speak fluent Italian first), and have a giraffe statue in my garden.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Living my life and meeting people living theirs.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a good sense of orientation and can certainly show you around in cities that I have lived in. I am always ready to offer a conversation and a good laugh. I can tell you my travel/ life stories and would always love to hear about yours. I can teach you things about China, or Italy, in some sense. I can certainly tell you all kinds of characters of Ithaca, NY, in which town I have spent an important part of my life. People, cultures, environment, design, languages...etc. etc. are my favorite topics.

I would always want to learn and practice my Italian, I have taken it in school for years but was never in a good environment to practice, even though I have lived in Italy. :(

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

China, Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Luna's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile