Logo orange

Ilya Katz

Brooklyn, NY, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

83% response rate · Last login 6 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ilya's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 16 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Russian
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Software Developer
  • Master's Degree
  • From Brooklyn, NY
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

The object of the game is to discover the object of the game

ABOUT ME

I am a software developer by trade and sometimes by hobby. When I'm not working I like to take random classes (fortunately NYC is full of those), being outdoors (hiking, skiing). I do volunteer, not as often as I should be, but trying to improve that. I have been to a bunch of countries and plan to do more travel, both international and within USA.

PHILOSOPHY

Oh, this is an ever evolving one... I tend to be the "happy colleague" because I've learned to appreciate what I have but also strive to improve what I think deserves changes.

I encourage everyone to offset their travel carbon emissions with sites such as http://www.carbonfootprint.com. Hey, I'm not ready to give up traveling yet, but this is the least I can do.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I hosted a number of CSer so far and it was great. I met a bunch of people from CS in Italy/London/Paris and at home in New York. I surfed in Tel Aviv and had a great time. I was also cancelled on last minute by a CouchSurfing host, which was also a bit adventurous, but I'd rather not do that again. I won't do that to you, I promise :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been to a few CS meetups while traveling and thought it was cool. Now I have space to host people so I figured it was a good time to start hosting.

My previous travels have evolved from hotel to hostel, which, I realize, is probably in the opposite order of what it should be :)

Interests

Hiking, biking, skiing, walking, touring my own city. Fiction and podcasts when moving around isn't an option. I also have a geeky side - like I said, I'm software developer by trade and hobby. Most recently, I decided to try out Jiu-Jitsu. I've been doing it for a few months and it has been great. I get my ass kicked every time, but I still like it. Give me some time, will you? :)

Music, Movies & Books

Yes, I will take some of that.

I like fiction, you know, sometimes need to distance yourself from real life which is around you. When not reading about someone else's life, I like to read about startups and technical book.

Music taste are not set in stone but I prefer soft rock during the day, guitar/jazz during the night.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Death Valley dessert was an awesome experience - besides all the cool things that are easily found in any tour guide book, one of the best moment when I looked up at the sky and saw the Milky Way for the first time. Hey, I always lived in a big city and seeing even one star would be considered cool, imagine how I felt looking at millions!

Teach, Learn, Share

I do like learning. And I like teaching, but only secretly :) I am interested in how people live in different countries and it fascinates me to find out what people do in different countries that I don't do. Kind of make me think of what I take for granted.

I'm usually learning something new because fortunately my field requires a lot of that.

What I Can Share With Hosts

Bicycle, if you promise to not have is stolen while riding around NYC :)

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, Peru, Spain, Taiwan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I've Lived In

Russian Federation, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ilya's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile