Kelly Kish's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kelly’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Learning Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Trails Maintenance for National Park Service
  • B.A. in Political Science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

Hey there! Born in Houston, lived in Bloomington, Indiana for 15 years, lived and worked in California. My family and friends are spread out around the country, and I enjoy travelling a bit myself as well.

I just finished a season working in Kings Canyon National Park in California. Ya know, rolling rocks, building trails, and living the simple life in the Sierra Nevada mountains. It was rough, and Kings is the highest part of the Sierra, but whoa--so beautiful. Texas and Indiana just don't have mountains like that!

I'm also a bike mechanic. When I returned from volunteering in Kenya in 2013, I wanted to make a difference in my carbon footprint. And biking was the answer! I started out on a craigslist $50 mountain bike--a solid Schwinn from the 90's, and I've moved on up! My current bike is a 1986 Schwinn Voyaguer, a beautiful red touring bike. And that's what I'm heading out to do soon! Second week of November I'm heading to to Washington D.C. from Indiana--on my bike! Then south from there and I'm just going to see how it goes. Oh, and I am now a trained (intermediate) bike mechanic--I've done a lot with Bike Projects and Co-ops wherever I can.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing is a rad way to meet others and use communities to create bonds!

Interests

-I enjoy biking.
-I started training for Sprint Triathlons last year. I can swim and bike well, so training for running was the biggie. I've completed two so far!
-After this summer, I'm a pro of hiking and camping and living outdoors with next to nothing.
-Reading when I can!
-I'm trying to write everyday, its a new habit I'm trying to build. For those of you who are great writers out there, that's what I'm trying to achieve.
-Oh, and laughing. Just that bond with someone of really enjoying a good conversation and exchange.

  • running
  • sprinting
  • reading
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • swimming
  • volunteering
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

-World Music
-Motown
-Kurt Vonnegut
-Harry Potter
-Inception
-American Beauty
-National Geographic
-Smithsonian Magazine

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbed four mountains this past summer in Kings Canyon National Park. The highest was Mt. Agazzi at 13, 970 ft! The view was stunning. Also, got caught in a terrible thunderstorm trying to clinb The Black Giant--you learn a lot when things get rough.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am open to many things--I've traveled and lived in many places over the years. I really enjoy sharing stories and discussing community and world events. But seriously, a good laugh is great too. I could also help you out with your bicycle! If you have any local events to go to, I am always game to get out and join.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, Colombia, Ecuador, England, France, Israel, Italy, Kenya, Malaysia, Palestine

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ecuador, Kenya, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kelly’s full profile. It’s free!