Logo orange

kelly Johnson

Durham, Durham, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see kelly's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • PhD student in anthropology
  • My undergrad was in Intl Relations +...
  • From Inverurie, Aberdeenshire, Scotland
  • Profile 40% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I am looking forward to my 3 month trip to Iceland in April - in addition to my academic plan I can't wait to hike, volcano and experience all things Icelandic!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

While my current accommodation does not mean I can provide a couch for any wanting surfers, having recently relocated and having travelled around, I understand the importance and value of local knowledge, cultural patriotism (I am a Scot after all!) and friendly suggestions - so I am more than happy to meet anyone for coffee or whatever and give a wee hello in Durham/Newcastle area.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have still not hosted any surfers, but have surfed in the past in Japan and found it to be a great experience, with very generous hosts. Also through friends have met some very cool (...and some awesomely eccentric!) surfers that have been great fun to go out with.

Interests

Travelling, people, hiking, the outdoors, music, cooking, food...generally just having a good time!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Just returned from fastnacht in Basel - an absolutely crazy experience!

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn Polish! Although I am working on it individually, anyone that can help me out would receive a coffee and a hearty piece of cake, not to mention my gratitude in exchange. In the past I have taught English and worked as a proof reader for PhDs if that is of any use to anyone. I also speak French and could do a language exchange to a fairly basic level, although how grammatically correct it will be I cannot promise....

Countries I've Visited

Japan, Malaysia, Morocco, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

India

Join Couchsurfing to see kelly's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile