Kelly Thomas's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kelly’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Teaching, writing, biking, enjoying my time
  • Family, friends, Reed College, books, experiences
  • From Grants Pass, OR, USA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meet interesting new people in La Rochelle and across Europe!

ABOUT ME

I am an independent person and enjoy traveling solo but also with good friends, new and old. I love Oregon and most other things, and am generally a pretty happy person.

I studied literature and writing at university, and am now teaching English in La Rochelle France. I seem to get along great with neurotic teenagers so teaching is lots of fun! I love travel, and the whole of Europe seems accessible to me now that I am in France. Hope to see lots of it before I leave this summer.

See my blog if you want to know more about me and the way I see the world : )

PHILOSOPHY

<3

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I feel very strongly about learning through talking with people. When I heard about couchsurfing I was SO excited because this is exactly what it is all about! I'll contribute what I have in me, and get to know as many people as I can!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I had a couple of GREAT experiences in New Zealand. I spent one of my best birthdays ever, new years eve!!, with couchsurfers in Wellington. I've also met a few good friends in France through couchsurfing groups. Can't wait to surf more :)

Interests

Love, books, painting, writing, poi, concerts, good conversation, playing outside, camping, learning, snowboarding, good food, good people.

  • writing
  • books
  • literature
  • singing
  • concerts
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • vegan
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • blogging
  • painting
  • hiking
  • camping
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • language exchange
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

The Arcade Fire, Modest Mouse and the Pixies are probably my top three. I also like dubstep, techno and reggae music. Soon I might spend more time making a list...

I love experimental writing like Lydia Davis and Diane Williams, but also novels and comics! My favorites include Coetzee, anything by Terry Tempest Williams, Murikami, Jenny Boully, David Foster Wallace...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I lived in La Manzanilla, I went swimming in the bay and hiking in the hills almost every day.

Teach, Learn, Share

In France I want to meet people interested in language exchanges, thus here I have my native English skills to share... I also have my knowledge of yummy vegan cuisine. I love to share meals with hosts and learn how they cook (I am not actually vegan, just think it's fun). I like to sing and dance, so that can always be shared.

Countries I’ve Visited

New Zealand

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Mexico, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Kelly’s full profile. It’s free!