Ken Wallingford's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ken’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Journalist/blogger/writer/will-do-almost-anything-to keep...
  • Undergraduate degree
  • From Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I'm a writer of sorts, and as such I often feel responsible to travel, to observe and create nuance and meaning from everday life. What better way to do this than to couch surf and host others? (Currently travelling Europe with my girlfriend)

ABOUT ME

Currently, I'm backpacking Europe with my girlfriend Lucy (who submits most of the couch surfing requests) for the next 3 months!

What else?

I grew up in Canada's capital city but escaped immediately after high school to the East Coast of Canada where the people are the friendliest in Canada, the seafood is top-notch, and the music and theatre scene is small, supportive but very powerful. I've seen some of my favourite performances and shows there.

I've spent time in Montreal working in a bar and interning with Vice and enRoute Magazine. And recently moved to Glasgow to hang out.

I'm pursuing a life of writing - mostly 'journalistically' - whatever that means.

PHILOSOPHY

Pursuit of balance. In all aspects of life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've hosted a wee bit, but now I'm travelling for the summer and will be looking for places to crash! Can't wait to meet all the amazing people out there

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My first experience involving couch surfing was when I met my friend's roommate and the two guys that were coach surfing with them. One particular night I fondly rememer was when we got a whole gang together and had a potlcuck dinner and drinks in a park beside Mont Royal in Montreal (Canada). Somehow, we ran out of booze, so myself and the two couch surfers went to a corner store bought two bottles of wine and waited for our friends to join us. We waited down a side street where we found a coulpe of lawn chairs outside of someones house so we sat down by the roadside and started drinking up. Those were good times and I hope I can do that some more with the people I meet as I host and travel.

Interests

Travel... duh
Reading
Writing
Going to performances (music, theatre, and art)
Drinking - when the time is right
Hiking/adventuring/playing sports of most kinds

  • arts
  • writing
  • seafood
  • wine
  • coach
  • drinking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • surfing
  • sports

Music, Movies, and Books

Music I'm listening to recently: Alt-J, Arcade Fire, Owen Pallett, Plants and Animals, Paolo Nutini, Nicolas Jaar, King Krule

Current Books: 12 Years a Slave, the Crofter and the Laird... and a bunch of travel books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watched seals basking in the sunlight on a crisp breezy day on a tiny island called Colonsay, off the West Coast of Scotland.

Watched the sunrise in Kanniyakumari, India where three great bodies of water meet (Indian Ocean, Bay of Bengal, Arabian Sea) with at least 1,000 (maybe 3,000) other people.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'll get back to you on this one because besides my mediocre ability to role tobacco (and weed), I can't think of anything to put.

Countries I’ve Visited

Dominican Republic, India, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Ken’s full profile. It’s free!