Kendell Newman's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kendell’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic (Morocco), French, Italian
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • student, baker, cook, community ed writing teacher, Commu...
  • working on an MFA in Creative Writing from University of ...
  • From Newton, MA, 02466
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To get to Alaska! My husband and I are moving up to Fairbanks so I can go to grad school and we're trying to drive up there, find a place to live, get some jobs, and live the life!

ABOUT ME

I'm ready to move, ready for a new adventure, new friends, a new place.

I've traveled a lot over the last 10 years and, having just spent 3 in Boston at a desk job, am itching to get out again.

I got married last year to a man named Jafar (not related to the Disney sorcerer) whom I met in South Africa on a trip in 2008. He agreed to come to the U.S. in 2010 and miraculously, when I proposed Alaska in 2012, he agreed! He says that when he was a kid in Cameroon, they used to think that Alaska was a make-believe place, that it was the farthest you could go on the earth. Needless to say, his mother is not pleased with our move :)

Jafar has been doing construction and landscaping for work, while I run communications at a public policy think tank. I'll be in school and writing fiction full-time in Fairbanks, which promises to be leagues more interesting than my current day-to-day. Jafar is still looking for work :)

We're pumped for the trip and can't wait to meet a new place and a new group of people.

PHILOSOPHY

Oh, right, real simple question. I live my life with curiosity, and as much as I can, I try to live it as it comes and as new opportunities arise. Makes for some great adventures and some questioning as to whether I should guide them into something with a little more direction. I'm working on finding the balance between spontaneous adventure and goal-oriented planning.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Right now we're looking for a place to crash in Fairbanks when we arrive, figuring it will take a week or two to find an apartment. We've been apartment hunting from afar, but haven't had luck yet. Looking forward to finding a place and offering up our couch to other surfers!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I stayed in the coziest living room of a young, Danish couple in Sisimiut, Greenland. I spent almost an entire day reading in their living room, when it was too rainy outside to want to leave. We ate the only vegetarian food I've had in Greenland, and the best I've had in a long time. Sailing, hiking and planning future adventures on future couches. They told me about this project :)

I also found myself an apartment in Cape Town, South Africa through couchsurfing! It was that connection that eventualy introduced me to my husband!

Interests

writing, Travel, community, reading, economics, baking, cooking, hiking, yoga, food, history, storytelling

  • writing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • baking
  • vegetarian
  • yoga
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • sailing
  • communications
  • economics
  • history
  • public policy
  • tourism
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

West with the Night by Beryl Markham, We the Animals by Justin Torres, Salamina by Rockwell Kent, God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy, If on a Winter's Night a Traveller by Italo Calvino...

I'm better at books than the others, but movies? I recently watched "Scent of a Woman" with Al Pacino and thought it was pretty brilliant. I like all kinds of music. My favorite of late is Asa - especially her newest album.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Icebergs bigger than buildings, peaking over the mountains in Greenland, Saharan sand dunes that look like icebergs in Greenland ...

Teach, Learn, Share

Greenlandic knittting, Moroccan Arabic with an American accent, bread-baking. My husband speaks and teaches French as well as "abseailing" - high ropes construction work. He is also an amazing gardener, plant-sitter, and stone layer.

Countries I’ve Visited

China, Russian Federation, Senegal, South Africa

Countries I’ve Lived In

Greenland, India, Morocco, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Kendell’s full profile. It’s free!