Kenny Varner's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 9% response rate
  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kenny’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Low German, Spanish
  • 42, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From Rochester, NY where I grew up; visit Vegas often, live in Baton Rouge
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a 40 year old professor in Vegas. I travel a ton for work and pleasure. I am a very social person when it comes to travel, unique stories, and connecting in 1:1 and more personal or intimate ways. I am single and essentially would love that to end at some point but I also enjoy being by myself so that I can travel how I like and see the world.

I fly about 200,000 miles a year and like going to South America, Australia, and Europe. I have been to Africa once and loved it. Becoming a more frequent traveler to Asia and finding Buddhists and Hindus (particular Sikh) intriguing for helping me develop new philosophical ideas. I love current events, I like people that don’t agree with me and help me see the way they see the world and help me have to fight inside my head to understand why I believe the very things I believe.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I travel so much and am sick of hotels. I met someone yesterday and we had a great conversation — for hours. And in the end he and I talked and he’s a couch surfer and He encouraged me to do this. I am excited to come to know new people and see new places but also host people.

Interests

Flight and plane travel; Starbucks; unique conversations, power dynamics; politics and current events; music; controlled adventure; calculated risk; river cruising; food though I don’t eat much, at all.

  • aviation
  • traveling
  • music
  • travel
  • theatre
  • bdsm
  • cruises
  • planes
  • airlines
  • planespotting

Music, Movies, and Books

I love almost any kind of music except country and rap. Even those in small doses. I love love music, concerts, and musicians. Really loves 80s music and anything with deep lyrics. Lover of Cohen brother movies, most independent and foreign films.: love English with an accent.

Books - meh. I write them for a living and have to read a lot to write so I don’t tent to read for pleasure very often. BUT very attracted to readers as they are usually very smart.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going to the Uyuni salt flat in Bolivia was pretty amazing. I have a little bit of a Forrest Gump like life with respect to travel — been fortunate to have LOTS of amazing experiences. I like the combination of new places, slight anxiety of newness, and learning from others histories and herstories.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have no clue what is supposed to go on this section. I can teach you about air travel and how to maximize your flying experience. I am always willing to learn and in fact love learning.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am clean, organized, and low maintenance. I am interactive if you like to be and can be solitary if you rather. I go with the flow and like unique experiences.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Curaçao, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Grenada, Honduras, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Martinique, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin (French part), Scotland, Singapore, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, Germany, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kenny’s full profile.