Logo orange

Khalilah Alwani

Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

Accepting Guests

Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Khalilah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 1 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish, Urdu
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • knowledge seeker, dancer, community ...
  • Life. (I also have a background in ...
  • From Vancouver/Victoria
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To explore, learn, create. To build community.

ABOUT ME

I am a political and community-minded person. I live, organize and learn on unceded Coast Salish land. This is a place that I have lived my whole life and am profoundly connected to. I feel most home when I am near the ocean.

I'm honest, trustworthy, a supportive friend, and a fabulous host. Who makes hands down, in duo with my roomie some of the best breakfasts.

Big fan of red lipstick, funky haircuts. Happy to subsist off mango, kale, almonds, and quinoa.

My home is a queer and trans positive space. It is welcoming to those who are kind and thoughtful. I make yummy water kefir, and I share it:)

PHILOSOPHY

Critically and deeply engage with the world. Lets take responsibility for our privileges, own our actions, and learn to work in solidarity.

A responsibility to be radical - to Grasp at the root.

A commitment to Love- Love as the action of extending oneself for the purpose of nourishing one's own or another's spiritual growth.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am new to CS. I am going to SF for a mini vacay and hope to CS there, then plan to host in Victoria when I get back :)

Interests

Critical collective consciousness, creative expression, plants and people.

I love to cook, eat, dance, garden and grow food, bike ride, play in nature, explore, make art, read feminist theory, organize the revolution, dabble, be mindful and do things that help me to be mindful and present. Lately my life has been filled with flamenco dancing, migrant justice organizing, working on various personal, family history, community projects, as well as completing my super rad research for my master's degree.

Co-operative solutions, deep laughter and acts of love bring me joy and hope.

Khalil Gibran

One Amazing Thing I've Done

My last trip away from home that was many kilometres, was to Hawai'i, for a cultural/political exchange with friends there, focused on Indigenous self-determination and cultural resurgence.

Teach, Learn, Share

It is when we stretch ourselves out into places where we are less comfortable that we can really learn and grow.

Countries I've Visited

Indonesia, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Khalilah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile