Kim Ellis's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kim’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Dementia Consultant
  • Bachelor of Occupational Therapy
  • From Perth, Western Australia, Australia
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

I'm 26 years old, female and on a long trip around the World. I packed up my bags in October, resigned from my job, sold most of my belongings and am now travelling. I love to travel for so many reasons including meeting and learning from other people, experiencing other cultures and ways of life and developing my imagination and emotional intelligence.

I'm easy going, love to laugh and like to put out positive energy to those around me. I intend to eventually return to either Perth or Melbourne and complete a masters degree in International Development.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am new to couch surfing but at this point in time could really benefit from the generosity of others to help accommodate me in certain cities. I also prefer the idea of staying with locals as opposed to hotels/hostels as I think locals always provide a unique and authentic insight into their city.

Interests

I enjoy drawing, writing, cooking, reading and watching good movies and television shows. I like to travel and I enjoy volunteering where I can. I have volunteered in China working with children and will be volunteering again in Costa Rica early next year on a conservation project.

I also enjoy yoga, Zumba and am trying to learn more about, and practice, meditation.

  • writing
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • zumba
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • surfing
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - I enjoy music from all genres minus heavy metal (I just can't get into it!). I have a particularly large soft spot for Patrick Watson and Sufjan Stevens as both make beautiful and gentle music.

Movies - again my taste is varied. The best movie I have seen in the last few years was probably Beasts of the Southern Wild. I generally like comedies and dramas but have an occasional desire for a tacky 80s horror. I love British comedy too, big Ricky Gervais fan, Black books, red dwarf etc.

Books - the Happiness Trap is the last book I have read and would highly recommend. I enjoy a lot of the classics and have a soft spot for the Bronte sisters.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Volunteering through my university to go to China as an occupational therapy student and working at a children's rehabilitation centre. It was highly challenging but so rewarding. Immeasurable in terms of what it taught me both professionally and personally.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My outrageous sense of humour :)
Some of my cooking skills (I think they're pretty alright)
Interesting conversation
Potentially some travel tips. (I'm quite well travelled)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Fiji, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Singapore, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Kim’s full profile. It’s free!