Kathryn Hinkle's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kathryn’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Currently I am a student, but my mind wanders...
  • Sophomore year of college
  • From Lodi, OH, United States
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Living in the moment

ABOUT ME

Happy, upbeat person. Generally restless and always looking for a way out of routine, for adventures and surprises.

I have not traveled nearly as much as I would like to, and so I am embarking on a mission to change this. I am on a personal leave from college this semester to gain some insight on why I am living my life, and how I want to do that. I am very excited to get on the road and see all that I can see. It's been a dream of mine to get out on the road and just live in the present, doing what side work I can to get by and just having a grand old time.

I met a couple at a music festival that took their life on the road and their story inspired me so much that I knew that was something I hoped to do in my lifetime. This new adventure is attributed to them and their kindness and I hope to meet them again during my travels.

PHILOSOPHY

Remember that the only time is now

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Haven't surfed yet, but have done some HelpX work. Excited to start and meet all kinds of new minds and make new friends!

Interests

Horseback riding
Animal care
Hoop Dancing (would LOVE to have a hoop jam!)
Writing
Wandering mindlessly, or hiking.
Camping
Music Festivals
Meeting interesting people
Stargazing
Baking bread (this was my job for a college living and dining co-op)
Cooking generally
Natural and alternative remedies/medicines
Massage
Meditation, yoga, good old stretching
Sustainable building

  • animals
  • cats
  • dogs
  • writing
  • beauty
  • music festivals
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • baking
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • gardening
  • animal care
  • knitting
  • music
  • equestrian
  • hiking
  • camping

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: live music is the way to go. I listen to most of my music on vinyl if I'm not with my friends jamming. Grateful Dead, Pink Floyd, CSNY, Bob Dylan, Fleet Foxes, Cat Stevens, Janis Joplin, Jack White, and so many more. I'm willing to listen to most anything, especially acoustic jam sessions! And of course, music festivals--what life is all about!
Books: Tolkien, Huxley, Orwell, Dostoyevsky, Whitman, 18th and 19th century, poetry of all sorts. Always looking for new books to read!
Not a huge movie person, but I enjoy the classics.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Camping on a mesa in New Mexico on a Navajo reservation. The most beautiful place I've been thus far, I made lifelong friends and fell in love with the desert. The beauty is unable to be captured in words, the people were so welcoming I never wanted to leave. And the food they cooked for us, well I was amazed to say the least! Time slowed down, not a care in the world, the ability to go do whatever you wanted whenever you wanted. The open sky and the heat of the sand, I can't wait to see more amazing things like this!
Got on a train in my hometown all alone, and never looked back =]

Teach, Learn, Share

Horseback riding, horse care, hula hooping, cooking, writing, gardening, chicken, dog and cat care/love.

I'd love to gain more cooking skills, organic farm work, knitting, jewelry making, musical talents, and really most anything you might be able to teach me! I want to see more of what's available in the world, and how else to do that besides learning from new friends?

Countries I’ve Visited

United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kathryn’s full profile. It’s free!