Maciej Mezynski's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maciej’s full profile.

Overview

  • 80 references 74 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Polish, Spanish; learning French, German, Portuguese
  • 46, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • we are both teachers, translators, tour guides and tour e...
  • higher
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Camino de Santiago -part 4. Lourdes-Santiago.

ABOUT ME

We are a family of four. My wife Ewa (she is the one who speaks Spanish and French) and our kids Janek (born 2005) and Marianna (2008) and me. We are trying to be open-minded and outgoing people. We are keen on travelling, meeting new people and discovering new cultures. When we visit a country we try to learn sthg about its History and do a bit of "Social Studies". What I mean is that we are fond of socialising with people we visit. We are happy to see how people live and we always encourage our hosts to visit Poland. We are into bike touring. We travel long distances and we like being outdoors. We love hosting families with kids. Our kids seem to like the idea and I hope it works well for them. We are clean and responsible people who treat things seriously. We do not let people down once we have promised sthg and we expect others to do the same. Last but not least, we like the idea of house swapping and are going to try it soon.

NOTE: we can only host during the weekends between September and May.

PHILOSOPHY

like Ozzy once sang; "I don't want to change the world, I don't want the world to change me"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When I was at high school (Poland had just ended the communism era shortly before, at last) I got a passport (believe it or not, it used to be very difficult to get one) and went with a Rainbow Family bus to Santiago, Spain. Those people taught me how to enjoy life and do what you like without looking at what other people say. I hitchhiked back from Spain to Poland (my first hitch hikinging experiance ever) and met people who offered me a place to sleep, company, talk, food even money. From then on I have taken up travelling as a hobby. So now, once I "grew up" I want to pay back what I received and help young people on the road. When I travel with my students I try to show them what CS is and when I travel with my family I like meeting new people.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

well, since 2004 I have been a member of a German ADFC Dachbager scheme which sleeps bike tourers in the same way as the CS. And of course the Hospitality Club. Only good experiances both for me and my students.

Interests

long distance, self-sustained bike touring and playing the accordion.

  • dining
  • cooking
  • clubbing
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

The Doors, Led Zeppelin, Kazik, Kult.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I got many students of mine into bike touring.

Teach, Learn, Share

how to plan a long distance bike tour, how to fix a bike, cook outdoors, get a decent sleep outdoors and how to get the gear you need at low cost.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can fix your bike or cook a delicious dinner for your family. I can help around the house. I am a kind of handyman.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Mexico, Moldova, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, Poland, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Maciej’s full profile.

My Groups