Gilles N Jessica DA SILVA

Grenoble, Rhone-Alpes, France

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gilles N Jessica’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in French; learning English, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 32, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • Sports Association / Social worker
  • Master
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To meet the LOCALS and find good advices about Brazil


Active, Self-starting, Sporty, Easy-going, Optimistic, Curious, Spontaneous, Hungry of knowledge, militant... we're a bit of that all. And above everything we love to share time and experiences with other people !
We're not heavy partiers as we're a bit old now (grand dad voice actived....) but we really like socials.
We're involved in many social and sharing activities (associations for sports, refugees, car pooling, helpX, CS, ...)
We're currently in a professional break & enjoy to be free for a year to discover New Zealand and Brazil ! Can't wait !
Jess is former-social worker in jail.
Gilles was director of the French association of volunteering trail builders for Mountain Bike (just google IMBA to know more).


Live the life you love ! Love the life you live !
Pierre Rabhi for his Earth loving, simplicity and humanism.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


We can share our flat, where we live with to little sympathetic cats.
And we'd love sharing 2, 3 days or more with hosts in a city or a place we don't know !
We try to host as much as we can. CS is just about a spirit of exchange that all of us have to contribute daily, by little actions. Because such slices of freedom have to be saved by acting !
If you receive us, we know how to be respectful and helpful (maybe sometimes too much... )
And moreover we try as much as we can to contribute to this website development and to defend and spread the spirit that lives here !


We're pretty new but we've met a lot of couchsurfers in BC, Canada. 99% of amazing experiences. And Good experiences sharing our home too with people from all around the world making us travelling when we're home.


Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling and every sports on Nature !) and above all to share good riding with friends (horse for Jessica and MTB for Gilles).
Gilles is fond of photography and yoga.
We live with music of all kind.
Every kind of culture : Theater, cinema, opera, dance, literature, etc...
... and have a drink with friends !
A thing we don't like : doing nothing. ;-)

Music, Movies, and Books

We're really curious of everything. So our tastes are really eclectic. Music : electronica, indie, classical, hip hop, dirty dance hits (Gilles don't agree every time...) and vintages, roots reggae aswell...
Cinema : mostly independant works.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The Lunar landscapes in Pag, Croatia, at twilight. Wow !
The beginning of a working day just outside the coach arriving in Mendoza, Argentina, twilight aswell.
Have a drink on the roof of a 58 floor building in New York.
Ride a MTB in Squamish BC, thanks to CS friends, and be surprised by a big black bear, really close to the fire-road we were riding, sitting on his back and eating his little berries !
Surfing just a few kilometers from the house of my grandparents, Portugal.
Biking the best trails of the world just a few meters from my office/home, Grenoble city...

Teach, Learn, Share

We are nice cookers and particularly in French cooking. Do you want to taste it?
We want to discover the places with the eyes of its inhabitants, open to advices, to visits you can share with us of places you really like...
We have to improve our Portuguese. So we're happy if you can teach us.
We are sensitized to the agriculture, work with animals, landscaping and the work for Nature. But now we want to experience it concretely. This travel will be the occasion !

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, France, New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Gilles N Jessica’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups