Kirsty Macqueen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kirsty’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Hebrew (modern), Polish, Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • PACU nurse
  • Look ma, I got a degree!
  • From Edinburgh born and raised
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To put off being part of the daily grind for as long as possible!

ABOUT ME

I'm Kirsty, a little bit of Polish, a whole lot of Scottish! Having lived in Edinburgh, Scotland my whole life I decided it was time for a change of scene so me and my good friend Katie packed our bags and moved to Toronto. We are going to be here for 2010 and then who knows? I'm a nurse which I really genuinely do enjoy doing most days.

PHILOSOPHY

I've definitely become a more happy and positive person in the last few years. I could spend my time moaning and complaining, but when I think of some of the people I have come across in my job, I remember just how fortunate I am to have the amazing life that I have. I guess I'm just at the stage right now where I feel so lucky to be doing what I'm doing and I want to experience as much as possible.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Sadly I'm not in Edinburgh at the moment but I've decided that when I get home I'll try and host again, since I've lived in the city for 23 years I reckon I can do not a bad job of showing people around. Plus I am extremely passionate about my home town which always helps!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

First began couchsurfing when I came to Toronto on my own, it was a great experience and have made some really great friends here in this city because of it.

Interests

I love running, cycling and yoga as a way to keep fit (and also so I can eat whatever I want!). I'm a big cook, mostly baking really yummy stuff and vegetarian and vegan cooking. I have played the piano and saxophone since I was a wee kid, and find it very therapeutic. I enjoy the simple pleasure in life, like a great cup of coffee or a really great conversation. Infact talking is probably my main interest! I love spending time with my friends doing whatever takes our fancy at the time whether that's having a few pints or just going for a walk.

  • cooking
  • coffee
  • baking
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • yoga
  • running
  • piano
  • cycling
  • nursing

Music, Movies, and Books

Absolute favourites include Maxwell, Prince, D'Angelo, Jill Scott and pretty much all hip hop especially 90s stuff like Tribe Called Quest, The Roots, Common, De La Soul, Binary Star, OutKast, Talib Kweli, Gang Starr, love old funk and soul stuff like James Brown, Sly and the Family Stone, Smokey Robinson, Stevie Wonder etc, basically anything with a great beat. I like non-fiction books that I can learn from, and obviously cookery books, mostly for the pictures! I love going to the movies for the whole experience, I like Korean and Polish films, and anything that makes me think.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going to Canada might not seem particularly amazing but it was really a turning point for me in terms of realising what I want to do with my life. Plus I would never have got on a plane on my own before that!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Kirsty’s full profile. It’s free!