Kyra Giannake's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kyra’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • full-time pretty cool guy (sometimes waitress)
  • Finished high-school, did one year of uni before deciding...
  • From Stanthorpe (apples and wine), QLD, Australia
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My mission is to make new friends, learn new skills, enjoy interesting conversations and share new experiences

ABOUT ME

Grew up in a small Queensland town, I'm pretty laidback but hardworking, like to think I have a pretty good sense of humour and love passionate and interesting conversation. I get on well with pretty much anyone and can almost always find a topic to talk about. Very easygoing, I love to meet new people but I also fully understand when people need space so I fit in with other's routines very easily.

PHILOSOPHY

I love finding things to connect with other people over, I believe I can learn something from everyone I meet, and that life is to be lived for everyone's enjoyment and enrichment. I think if we all were willing to listen and empathise with one another the world would be a much better place.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I clean, cook (I've been told well) and bake, I provide stimulating conversation, am open-minded and considerate and very willing to share my stories and experiences in exchange for your own.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've not used Couchsurfing before but I have used WorkAway. I'm a travel newbie so I've only had one WorkAway experience, but it's been a fantastic one. I lucked out and got an invitation to go up to the beautiful Lake District in England and help with the construction of a biodome for a brilliant, super caring lady. Unfortunately, due to time constraints and personality clashes/ miscommunication between my host and the other helper staying with us at the time, the biodome never got built. I did learn how to make a white chalk wash, and did a lot of cooking and baking during my stay.

It was a shame that the other worker and my host had to resort to conflict, but it was mainly due to miscommunication, lack of respect and inability/unwillingness to really listen to one another. I'd love to find some hosts who are respectful and appreciate being respected in return, who are active listeners and willing to have open discussions about any concerns.

Interests

My interests are mainly meeting new people, eating new and interesting food, having quality chats over tea or wine or beers, baked goods and making friends with animals. I'm also interested in poi and hooping (though I haven't done either in a while), dancing, gardening (I've recently developed an interest in permaculture and would love to learn more about it) and scribbling.

  • animals
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • baking
  • walking
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • violin

Music, Movies, and Books

Oh gosh, where to begin! I like psytrance and glitch-hop, due to having a whole lot of fun and meeting good people at psy parties, I've been listening to a lot of Paul Kelly lately (homesickness?), but I really enjoy just about all genres and am terrible at listing my favourites.

Movies, again, I'm pretty open to. I can appreciate goofy humour and artsy films just the same.

Paolo Coelho's The Alchemist is probably my comfort book of the moment; I'm not particularly religious and I don't take it as gospel, but it was the first book that really opened my eyes to a more open way of life. I love Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential (both of my parents were chefs, I identify with more of that book than I should) and John Birmingham's He Died with a Felafel in his Hand (though that one's probably a bit Australia-specific). As far as classics go I loved Dorian Gray but don't generally feel the need to read classics just because they are.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The Lake District! Oh my goodness, arriving up north after spending three weeks in London was an incredible feeling. I loved London but I found it a little overwhelming after a while, and to go from grey and lonely to the beautiful green, serene and welcoming place where I was staying was amazing, such a relief. I did some walking around the area, climbed a mountain and was amazed that I could see Scotland! The Lake District is a beautiful place, and really reminded me how much I appreciate having space and being surrounded by nature.

Teach, Learn, Share

I recently learned how to whitewash a wall using chalk, latex and water! I can cook pretty well and am happy to share this skill with anyone interested. I'll teach you to speak Australian (Europeans seem to have an obsession with this...) and regale you with stories of life Back Home (it's not all spiders and snakes I promise!).

I'd love to improve my poi and hooping skills, and maybe learn some other forms of fire-twirling, I'm interested in learning how to play a variety of instruments (particularly violin) and would like to learn to read tarot cards.

Countries I’ve Visited

United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Kyra’s full profile. It’s free!