Logo orange

Lara Gentemann

Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany

Maybe Accepting Guests

40% response rate · Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lara's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 14 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Chinese, French
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • studying physics
  • No education listed
  • From Hildesheim, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

HAVING FUN

ABOUT ME

I'm not really good in writing a continuous text about myself, so I just go ahead and list some facts:

I grew up in a small village in Germany - not too far away from Hannover, but closer to a city called Hildesheim which is famous (or at least it says so) for its 1000 year old rose bush.

I have two brothers. One is older (actually he's only a half brother) and the other one is younger than me.

I LOVE dogs and have always wanted to own one.
I have had three pet rabbits when I was younger.
Now, my family's got a puppy - he's called Joey and certainly one of the cutest dogs ever! :)

I am allergic to cats, horses and LOTS of grasses/pollen. I hate it!

I love being close to the sea.
That's why my favorite birds are sea gulls and pelicans.

Our family vacations always took us to a town called Blavand in Denmark where you can find amber at the beaches. That's why amber is my favorite stone/gem.

My favorite flower is a snapdragon - probably because I remember vividly playing with those as a child.

My favorite color is green.

I can hardly resist eating chocolate if I've got some.

I usually drink water during the day instead of milk or juices or soda.
I like drinking coffee Mocha tough.
And when it comes to soda, there's no better choice than "Fritz Kola-Kaffee" - a soda which combines a really good coke (not too sweet) and coffee. Sounds a little weird at first but is sooo yummie!
I NEVER drink alcohol.
(I don't mind other people doing so though - it's everyone's own decision.)

After graduating from highschool I lived in the US for a year working as an au pair.

I'm studying physics in Hannover.
In general I'm totally into all kinds of nature sciences.

I know how to solve a 3x3 Rubik Cube.

I love crossword puzzles.

In summer, I love going to open air music festivals.

I like Harry Potter quite a lot.

I have a stuffed animal which I still snuggle with at night. And no, I don't think that's embarrasing.

I'm collecting Hard Rock Cafe shirts.
I'm collecting postcards, shirts and bracelets from most the places I've been to.

My natural hair color is blonde.

I wish to see and explore as much of the world as I can. I do not only wanna see the beautiful sides though - I wanna see the real life wherever I am, no matter what it's like!

I like driving stick shift better than automatic.

I like photography.

I'm usually wearing two different Converse All Stars. Don't even remember when and why I started doing that but it's a while ago and somehow it became a habit.

I can count in Chinese.

I usually don't have any prejudices.

PHILOSOPHY

If you asked me about my personal philosophy, I would just say that I like to live my own life. I do whatever I think is the best thing for me - as long as no one gets hurt of course. If you once feel like doing something, you should do it no matter what other people might think or say - as you never know if you'll ever get the chance again.
You rather regret the things you did NOT do than the things you did do!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I met some people to hang out with and surfed quite a few couches. Have only hosted one guy so far.

Surfed:
Stuart in San Diego
Caroline in Portland
My in Vancouver
Davey in San Francisco
Max in San Francisco
Alex in Miami
Liana in Baltimore
Matthew in Philadelphia
Emily in Washington DC
Siddique in New York
Anka and Ante in New York
Roger in Boston
Martin in Chicago

LOVED it every time! :)

Hosted:
Brad from Rockaway

Interests

It's hard to list all of my interests. In general, I'm interested in pretty much everything - except of going shopping! (there's one kind of shopping i like though: tourist shopping - i'm collecting t-shirts and bracelets from all over, and postcards of course!)
I love to meet people from all over the world without prejudices. So, I love travelling as well. I wanna see as many different places on earth as possible. Somehow, i think that there is nothing more impressive than the nature and all its phenomenons. I'm really into mathematics and physics, too - those stuff is just amazing for me!
And last but not least for my small list of interests: I love playing guitar though I wouldn't say I'm really good in it...it's just quite relaxing and fun!

Music, Movies & Books

I enjoy reading a lot.
Recently I read lots of books by Nicholas Sparks - haha, yeah, girl stuff! :D But I love thrillers and other crime storys as well. And sometimes I do enjoy reading scientific articles I randomly find surfing the internet.
And though I'm not really into fantasy stuff one of my all time favorites is the Harry Potter series. I just LOVE it!

I love listening to music and going to concerts - especially in summer when it's outdoors!
I basically enjoy all kinds of rock music but also acoustic and some other random stuff that makes you feel good. :)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Once when I was in Denmark for vacation, I lived directly at the border to a military exercising territory and in the dark you could see the flying cannons which looked just like fire balls - that was somehow impressive!

whale watching - I've seen Orcas, Gray Whales and Humpback Whales so far. It's always been super impressive to see those huge guys in nature. And I was absolutely stunned when one of them jumped almost entirely out of the water just behind our boat as if he was the lightes creature ever...for me kinda unbelievable!

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Denmark, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lara's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile