Leah Ashe's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 11 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Leah’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 21 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian, Spanish; learning Catalan, Valencian, Portuguese
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Researcher (Food Sustainability), Translator (Spanish, It...
  • Food Security & Sustainability; History and Culture of Fo...
  • From Notre Dame, Indiana / Buffalo NY USA
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

I love learning and thinking about anything and everything ... walking and hiking and being outdoors ... the water ... the mountains ... "interesting (challenging?) conversations" ... encountering different ideas ... languages ... cultures ...

After almost ten years living overseas, I moved "home" to the USA last year. I can't wait to get out and be travellin' again ... but for the time being here I am in my own country, trying to build an academic career.

I'm heading overseas again this summer, though, and I hope it will help me to build some new bridges and opportunities for new experiences overseas!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've had a really great experience on CS over the years. I started out a long time ago hosting in my first apartment in the USA. I had a boring job, and it was great fun to meet people from all over. That way I could travel without traveling.

Now I've been on the move a lot: I've lived overseas for the last ten years or so, with a lot of movements between one place and the next. CS people have been great friends and great cicerones along the way. I've really enjoyed getting to know different people and learn their perspectives and experiences. And taste their good foods :)

Look forward to meeting more people and knowing more places "along the way" :)

Interests

food, cooking, "interesting conversations", outdoors, running-walking-hiking, travel, languages, photography

  • dining
  • cooking
  • running
  • walking
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • languages
  • hitchhiking
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Ivan Illich
Giorgio Agamben
Clifford Geertz
William Least Heat Moon

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

CAMINO DE SANTIAGO!! (St-Jead-Pied-de-Port to Finisterre/Muxia) ... Wow.
Two-week wander in the Umbrian hills "in the footsteps of St. Francis"
hitchhiking all around ...

Teach, Learn, Share

Food stuff ... critical theory . . . languages . . . some techie stuff (I used to be an engineer, believe it or not) . . .

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love to cook and share meals and stories with hosts and guests!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Hungary, Ireland, Macedonia, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Peru, Romania, Slovenia, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Leah’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups