Laura Marx's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 39, Other
  • Member since 2011
  • Scientist for a non-profit
  • No education listed
  • From Johnstown, PA
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Raising the next generation of travelers

ABOUT ME

I am fascinated by those connections we all make with people we are unlikely to see again in person. From the woman who sat next to me at the auto repair shop and told me all about her world-traveling, DJ-ing son and his med student brother, to the woman I met years ago on a plane who was commuting from Connecticut, US to Kansas, US every week as she struggled to stay in her kids lives but stay out of an abusive relationship, to the kind older man in the grocery store who kept my daughter happy and smiling while I checked out. I don't travel much these days, but when I do I'd like to make a deeper connection than you get from passing people in the hall of a hotel.

Interests

I spend most of my time these days at work or with my family (incl. two amazing kids), but I also try to make time to get outside, to exercise, and to cook new and interesting things now and then. Pre-kids, I ran a marathon, competed in ballroom dance, taught origami, was in school for a total of 24 years (either impressive or horrifying, depending on your perspective), went backpacking, and once drove 7 hours each way to spend about 20 hours on a surprise Valentine's Day visit.

  • animals
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • exercise
  • marathon
  • shopping
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • origami
  • backpacking
  • hang gliding

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I went hang gliding for my birthday a few years ago. It was amazing and terrifying all at the same time -- something I'm grateful I did, but don't plan to do again!

Teach, Learn, Share

Hmm... well, I can teach juggling, tree identification, and origami. If you're a parent or hoping to be one some day, I have lots of experiences to share with you. I would love to learn how to cook new foods, the hidden treasures in places I visit that tourists never see, and am always interested in adding new plants or animals to the list of those I can identify.

Countries I’ve Visited

Costa Rica

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups