Lauren Anne's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Danish, French, German, Hebrew (modern), Indonesian, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Student and Public Servant
  • I'm a Masters student, just finished with courses and abo...
  • From Canberra, Australia
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Mission: To tackle the Scandinavian vowel system (or, Learning how to say 'Speciallægepraksisplanlægningsstabiliseringsperiode', one day and one vowel at a time!)

ABOUT ME

I'm a Masters student from Canberra that loves travelling and seeing new places. I'm originally from Sydney, but grew up in Malaysia and have studied in the UK. I'm travelling for research at the moment and would love to get to know people as I do!

PHILOSOPHY

I love people and places that inspire me! I'm intrigued by the way humans work together - biologically and culturally - and how we live in the world, hence my studies in Anthropology (it certainly ain't for the money!).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love cooking, and am a very social person. I am always happy to help out in the kitchen and make meals, and love to chat and talk to people as well!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

This is my first time using the Couchsurfing website, based on the recommendations of friends that have always enjoyed it. I've met a lot of people and stayed in a lot of interesting places during my time travelling, so I want to keep on doing that through couchsurfing.

Interests

I'm a bit of a geek, I admit (I love Doctor Who and Firefly, to start), an avid knitter and reader, and I also enjoy the history and culture of the places I visit. The museum is often the first place I visit - and I love learning as much of the local language as I can! I'll also admit, I love trying the food (and drink) of any new place I'm in, and I'm not adverse to the (for me) more weird and wonderful aspects of it. I've eaten spiders and crickets, and drunk whatever was put in front of me! I'd like to think I'll try anything once - and perhaps a second time, just to be sure.

  • culture
  • performing arts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • rugby
  • anthropology
  • history
  • medicine

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm a big fan of the 'female singer-songwriter' genre, and at the moment am engaged in a small obsession with Agnes Obel and Florence and the Machine, but I also have a life-long love affair with Tori Amos, Ani DiFranco, Joni Mitchell and Regina Spektor. That being said, I enjoy anything with a string section (I dabble with the violin in my spare time), and have been known to enjoy the likes of Nightwish and Gojira - especially over a beer. I love Jane Austen and Sookie Stackhouse - and everything in between! If it's written on a page, I'll give it a go. I must admit, however, that I'm not the greatest fan of the horror genre - on page or on screen. My favourite film is Mostly Martha (or Bella Martha), a German film that was later remade as the (not as good, sadly) American film 'No Reservations'. I love Amelie and The Intouchables, and have a soft spot generally for European films.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I recently visited Cambodia for a research trip studying gibbons, and was able to visit the Angkor Wat temple complex. It was by far one of the most amazing trips in my life; to be able to spend three weeks in the jungles of the north, following a wild family of gibbons, and then the spend a few days enjoying the fantastic history of the country, as well as being able to do so many activities that give back to the community.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have an in-depth and deeply esoteric knowledge about Biological Anthropology, as well as a background in and love of Pacific Studies. Ever wondered why it is that you have redhair, or the ability to drink milk, or how different we are from chimpanzees? Want to know why the New Zealand rugby team perform the haka? I'm your girl. I have silly anecdotes about gibbons and the idiotic things you say when you're learning a new language, and am happy to teach one and all how to knit!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Cambodia, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Fiji, France, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Tonga, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany, Malaysia, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile. It’s free!