Lauren Em's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • English teacher
  • Degree in creative writing
  • From Derby, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

Hey there! I'm Lauren, I'm 23 years old and looking to travel as much as possible. I just spent the last 4 months teaching english in thailand, my boyfriend Danny and I are now moving around India looking for cool places to stay! We are both happy carefree people who love to immerse ourselves in new cultures, try new food and explore new places. Danny has just given up his job as a gardener to come travelling and I did the same to teach English abroad.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We both want to explore new places and experience different cultures through local people. Trying new crazy foods is also something we love to do, and that's easier when being hosted. Travel is very important to both of us, we just need some like minded people to help us on our adventure!

Interests

In my spare time I like to go out and about in London, exploring new café’s, bars, restaurants and poetry clubs and writing reviews on them. I thoroughly enjoy all varieties of theatre and am always on the lookout for something new and exciting in the arts. I also enjoy going out in the small hours not to clubs but to all night raves and cabaret parties in the underground rave scene.
The hobby I probably indulge in the most is my writing as this is both my work and my play. I will write on the train, at home, whenever inspiration takes me. I have always found it important to try everything, therefore I am currently working on a mixture of writing projects: I have just completed a TV pilot episode script; I am working on a novel; I am also writing a children’s/young people’s novel as well as constantly updating my portfolio of poetry, lyrics and reviews.
I also like to dabble in the world of art, visiting exhibitions, museums and various shows as well as trying my own hand at painting and pencil work. I have designed a few tattoos in the past, including my own, which have been used as a final design for a tattoo.
When my budget allows, I love to travel, be it simply to another part of London, or a one-man trip to Paris. I find travel and exploration the most inspiring of activities and make it my mission to get about as much as possible and to see as much of the world as I can, my most recent plan being second a trip to Belgrade, Serbia at the end of May. I would love the opportunity to completely immerse myself in a new culture for months at a time to get a taste of life on the other side of the world and would relish the change to shed my westernisation for a while and explore new avenues of life.
In general I love to participate in or appreciate anything creative, be it writing, art, music or the arts. I have a habit of recording and keeping everything that I have seen/done in an overflowing scrap-book which I intend to keep expanding as much as possible!

  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • poetry
  • design
  • tattoos
  • dining
  • partying
  • clubbing
  • raves
  • gardening
  • comics
  • anime
  • tv
  • traveling
  • painting
  • music
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Any documentary, Disney and pixar, anything by Tim Burton, most horrors, drama and suspence, quinten tarintino, anime, TV shows like the walking dead and game of thrones, graphic novels and comics, any classic literature, anything to do with zombies, History books, thriller novels, interesting biographies. Music is mostly rock, metal, rap, reggae and classical. Basically we like a huge variety of everything.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Teaching English in thailand was probably the most amazing thing I've done. For Danny it was seeing Eminem and Dr Dre.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have skills as an English teacher and creative arts. Danny knows how to garden and has an extensive knowledge of anime and comics.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Laughs! We are game for fun and love to find fun stuff to do. I am happy to help anyone that wants to improve their English skills and return the favour if they ever want to visit England.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Portugal, Serbia, Spain, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile. It’s free!