Lauren Morris's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 14 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 25, Other
  • Member since 2022
  • Academic
  • MA, Cultural Studies (in progress)
  • From Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Hi everyone! I'm a Canadian academic, writer, and (sometimes) artist. I do interdisciplinary research at the intersections of queer theory, disability studies, and culture. I'm coming to Paris for a conference at the end of May, and am going to be travelling through Paris (May 26 - June 3rd) and Berlin (June 4th-12th).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm new to Couchsurfing and joined based on a recommendation from my roommate! Looking for potential hosts in Paris, Bordeaux, and Berlin, dates are flexible but I'll be visiting cities in that order! Will update with more precise dates soon, but currently am somewhat flexible based on host availability. :)

Interests

  • poetry
  • fashion
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • politics
  • music
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • art
  • social justice
  • techno
  • feminism
  • comedy
  • hardcore
  • humour
  • queer theory
  • hyperpop

Music, Movies, and Books

Huge fan of music (techno, hardcore, punk/post-punk, and hyperpop are my favourite genres), I love and listen to a wide variety of music!

Not huge into movies but I do love going to film festivals to check out fringe films + documentaries, so if you know of any good film fests let me know!

I read primarily academic books in the areas of queer theory, disability studies, and feminist cultural theory. I can chat theory for hours if that's your bag.

Teach, Learn, Share

In my academic life I teach in disability studies as a graduate assistant. I also am a certified yoga instructor, although I don't teach that regularly! I am always learning about culture and art, I love museums, galleries, and festivals - anywhere I can go to soak up the culture!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love to cook, and over the pandemic I got into mixing cocktails (if you drink), I can make assorted simple syrups and fancy beverages!

I also love comedy, especially stand up comedy. My friends say I'm funny - perhaps we can find out!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, England, France, Hungary, New Zealand, Spain, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile.