Laurie Troyer

San Francisco, California, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laurie’s full profile. It’s free!


  • I do counseling and social work for a living, which I enj...
  • I have an undergraduate degree in anthropology and a grad...
  • From San Diego, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To see what's out there and meet folks in and from different places.


Talking to people, sharing food, and checking out all sorts of interesting things are some of my favorite things to do. I live in a very interesting neighborhood with all kinds of things going on,which I enjoy.
I live alone, but my apartment building is a community - I share meals and hang out with my neighbors, which has been great.
I ride my bike to work and am thankful to live in a bike-friendly city.
I like San Francisco because it's full of all kinds of spectacles and events year round. I'm a film and food addict and am luckily surrounded by ridiculously good restaurants.
Over the past year I have volunteered for a film festival, acupuncture clinic, and park rehabilitation project and taken part in various community issues. I have also enjoyed attending classes at the San Francisco Free University.


I love a good conversation - from the irreverent to the mind-expanding kind. Humor is the best.
I believe that to be genuinely happy is to contribute to the happiness and well-being of the world at large.
I am working to improve how I take care of myself and others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have hosted a couple of people, having gone to some couch surfing events, and have couch surfed on my trip to the Southwest a couple of years ago. I really enjoyed the people I stayed with.
Over the past year I have been unavailable to host, partly due to having a family member stay with me so that she can attend graduate school long distance.


I'm always delighted to find how many interesting and kind people there are out there.


Music, museums,art, food and cooking, movies, crafts, beads, interesting clothes, alternative spiritualities and communities, Chinese medicine, diet and health, psychology, books, travel, lectures. Camping, hiking, biking, parties, dancing. I love spectacles, festivals, and events of all kinds.

Music, Movies, and Books

My reading interests are all over the place. Right now I'm reading a memoir, a psychology book and leafing through an art book.
Latest movies:Anna Karenina, The Central Park Five, We are Legion,Lincoln.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

There's a lot. Everything in Utah and most things in Colorado are amazing to me.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know about food, the politics of food and issues related to the sustainability movement,organics etc. I know psychology and love to talk about related topics. I like to learn about healing modalities. I like to learn how to make things by hand and am now learning how to sew. I can teach people about cooking and baking.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, India, Italy, Mexico, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Nepal, Portugal, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Laurie’s full profile. It’s free!