Logo orange

Lorelai Avram

Bucharest, Bucharest, Romania

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lorelai's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 30 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English, French, Romanian, Spanish; learning Arabic (Egypt), Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Tatar
  • 81, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Student
  • No education listed
  • From Galati, Romania
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Vivir para contarlo

ABOUT ME

I take pleasure in discovering quirky words, and really enjoy etymology and grammar. I am deeply attached to my native language (Romanian), but I enjoy learning others.
My life's plan is to become a nomad, stop using money, and revert to hunting and gathering. I deeply regret the agricultural revolution. And the industrial revolution, for that matter.
I study education and anthropology. Once I am done with university, I will focus on the things truly worth doing, most of which I have not identified yet, but which include writing, living in a hammock by the beach and making documentaries.
I also like dancing like there's no tomorrow.

PHILOSOPHY

I live to tell the story. (G.G. Marquez)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I surf with people. I look forward to hosting when I live in a place that's not the middle of nowhere.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I stayed with people in Egypt, Chile, Brazil, Argentina, England, Peru, Finland, Estonia, Kazahstan, Kyrgyzstan, NYC, Turkey, Mexico and the Czech Republic.

Interests

Hanging out, mainly
Writing
Art & art history
Different educational models
Hitchhiking
Scuba diving and skiing
Healthy eating and organic farming
Social engineering

Music, Movies & Books

Music - a very bizarre mix. Middle-eastern music, bachatta, raggaeton, reggae, techno, folk, anything that makes me move.

Books - Murakami, Fowles, Dostoyevsky, Nabokov, Llosa, Cortazar, Safran Foer, Emerson, Palahniuk, Marquez, Allende.

Movies - El labirinto del fauno, Before sunset and Before sunrise, Harold and Maude, Diarios de motocicleta

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Hitchhiking from California to Costa Rica in two weeks was pretty cool. So were Easter Island, traveling through India by train, and hanging out by the Red Sea and by the Atlantic Ocean, in hippie beachy places. I also went to a magical island in Chile.

Teach, Learn, Share

I don't know much, but I will wanna learn whatever you want to share.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, India, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mexico, Morocco, Nicaragua, Peru, Russian Federation, San Marino, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Chile, Mexico, Peru, Romania, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lorelai's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile