Logo orange

Shael Kerbel

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

100% response rate · Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shael's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 68 Positive References2 Neutral
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Accountant (I work in the Deals group)
  • Formally in accounting, economics, a...
  • From Richmond Hill (suburb of Toronto)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Travelling is by far my number one passion in life, as I'm sure it is for many other members of CS... that's what makes this project such a success! New languages, different cultures, interesting sites... all great reasons to travel, but it's the people that we meet along the way that always have and will give us those memories that keep us longing for more.

I can finally say that I now live in the heart of downtown Toronto, and it is great! I work full-time, however, and unfortunately don't have the time I would like to spend with guests and even friends and family.

I don't smoke and love to cook, drink (socially), and above all meet new and amazing people from all over the world with whom I can share travel stories and experiences, as well as anything else that you want to talk about.

Since the new CS format change, I have taken the time to update my profile, but here is my old legacy profile (pre-update): https://www.couchsurfing.com/users/202150/profile/legacy

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

Apart from the obvious being a surfer and host, I am a huge advocate for the project and promote it to all my friends and fellow travellers that I have met, and will continue to do so as long as I travel!

I've CSed a good number of times now (including staying in the park with a bunch of other CSers in Pamplona at the San Fermin festival in 2006), and hosted a number of times when I was living in Korea, and so far each experience has been very positive. A few "awkward" moments, but overall no complaints. Let's just say they make for interesting stories! Without a doubt couch surfing is a much better way of traveling than staying at any hostel or hotel.

Interests

travelling, languages, food/cooking, music (rock, classic rock, jam bands, jazz, classical, etc.), photography, technology, snowboarding, hockey, beer, wine, and plain old good conversation!

Music, Movies & Books

http://www.last.fm/user/leafsfan85/,
Rock and classic rock, jazz, classical, etc...

Movies: I tend to watch more TV than movies and don't really have favourites to the point that I could watch them multiple times. In general I like movies that make you laugh and movies that make you think, and a number of Korean movies that I got into while living in Korea.

Books: I find myself reading mostly non-fiction these days. Anything travel, food and/or science-related will usually catch my attention.

TV: Love me some old school comedies like Seinfeld and HIMYM. Current favourite comedies are Always Sunny, Modern Family, Brooklyn Nine-Nine and Archer. Favourite dramas were Breaking Bad and Lost, but current dramas would be Game of Thrones and Homeland. I also love travel shows (Departures, all of Anthony Bourdain's shows, etc.), cooking shows (Iron Chef, Chopped, etc.), and various documentaries.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I am extremely thankful for all the amazing experiences I've had over the years, and it is impossible to list just one, so here are some highlights:

2006
Ran with the bulls on my 21st birthday in Pamplona, Spain and then saw Bob Dylan on the beach in San Sebastian just a few days later; Took a bike ride through wine country near Bordeaux, France; went hiking in Meteora, Greece and Cinque Terre, Italy; saw the Palio while living in Siena, took a scooter around Rome, and wandered the ancient alleyways of Pompeii.

2007-2008
I taught English for a year in Korea and met some incredible people while doing it.

2008
I Mongolian wrestled (and lost - in all fairness the guy was a Mongolian wrestler!), went camel and horseback riding, and danced in the plains of central Mongolia and the Gobi desert... oh and observed a full solar eclipse while there too! I attended the 2008 summer Olympics in Beijing, climbed the Great Wall of China, roamed the streets of Hong Kong, and went to the Venetian Casino in Macau AND Las Vegas only a months apart. I've also been white water rafting in the Philippines and nearly killed myself jumping off a cliff there.

2009
I returned to Korea and then travelled around Japan by way of the thumb.

2010
Attended the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver and Whistler, BC.

2011
In a period of 6 weeks: Played with penguins in Antarctica; hiked the Perito Moreno glacier in Patagonia; partied in Rio for Carnaval; played with (blue footed) boobies in the Galapagos Islands.

Learned to SCUBA dive in Panama and Little Corn Island, Nicaragua.

2013: Drove around Kruger National Park in South Africa and met some amazing locals (and lemurs) in Madagascar whom we still keep in touch with to this day (just the locals :P)!

2014: Got married to the love my life, and soon heading off to South Africa (again) for a quasi-family trip/honeymoon.

This list just keeps on expanding... but as a direct result of using this site, I've made a bunch of new friends and connections who will continue to be around when my memories have long faded away.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am by no means a chef, but there are a few things that I am particularly good at cooking and am always glad to share that with others. Would love to learn more and always excited to learn new recipes and techniques so I love hosting (or surfing with) CSers who can cook!

I am also pretty good with computers and have on occasion helped my hosts out with computer issues.

I love to learn and share all that I've learned, and I've learned far more through CS than I'll ever be able to share. I suspect the same is true for most people on here.

What I Can Share With Hosts

As mentioned above, I love to cook. If time permits, I would love to cook a meal for (or better yet, with) you. If that isn't possible, I will ALWAYS make sure to clean the dishes and make sure I leave your place in even better condition than before I came.

Most of all, I can offer plenty of conversation, especially if it is on the topic of travel!

Countries I've Visited

Antarctica, Argentina, Bahamas, Brazil, Canada, Cayman Islands, China, Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Madagascar, Mexico, Mongolia, Nicaragua, Panama, Philippines, Puerto Rico, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Italy, South Korea

Join Couchsurfing to see Shael's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile