Leah Davidson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Leah’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Registered Nurse
  • No education listed
  • From Manitoba, Canada
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

Hello! I am a 27 year old Canadian working as a registered nurse for almost a year now. I love to travel & explore and look forward to embarking on my next trip!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When I was straight out of high school I embarked on my first backpacking trip and travelled a lot within the first few years. Then I went to university and was either too broke or too busy to travel so after a bit of a hiatus I am ready to get back into long-term travel. I am hoping to explore South America on my next trip and I have read that couchsurfing comes highly recommended. On my past travels I mostly stayed in hostels so, although it was a wonderful way to meet other travellers, you don't get to meet any many locals. On this trip I would love to meet new people, make new friends, work on my spanish skills, and overall have a more enriching experience.

Interests

I enjoy the outdoors and being active in all seasons. In winter I snowboard, snowshoe, or x-country ski. In the summer months I like to hike, bike, spend time on the water, camp, fish, and enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine in the sunshine.
I enjoy live music, festivals, reading, animals, road trips and obviously...travel!

  • animals
  • fish
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • wine
  • beer
  • vegetarian
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowshoeing
  • nursing
  • road trips
  • long-term travel

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - I like a little bit of everything but especially love folk, indie. Faves include Mumford & Sons, First Aid Kit, Neil Young, Kathleen Edwards, etc.

Books - My favourite genre is historical fiction, I like to learn a little while being entertained. I also enjoy Miriam Toews or Anne-Marie MacDonald, and when I really want a light hilarious read Chelsea Handler is my go-to.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

For my final practicum to obtain my BSc in Nursing degree I travelled to Zambia where I, along with my fantastic teammates, worked for 6 weeks in a rural hospital and community clinics. For one week, a friend and I, travelled to a rural secluded village with no roads, electricity or running water and worked with the resident nurse while camping near the clinic. Spending time with the local children, and learning about the struggles of providing quality health care in such a secluded setting was an amazing, unforgettable, experience which definitely made me re-evaluate my own life & perceived "challenges".

What I Can Share with Hosts

I enjoy cooking and can cook some tasty vegetarian recipes!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Botswana, Cambodia, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Egypt, Germany, Greece, Jordan, Mexico, South Africa, Thailand, Turkey, Viet Nam, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Leah’s full profile. It’s free!