Logo orange

leo-and-zhenya

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Accepting Guests

96% response rate · Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see leo-and-zhenya's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 21 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning French, Japanese
  • 29, Other
  • Member since 2012
  • Occupied.
  • We both have one of these. Well, two.
  • From Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

We're a couple living in Melbourne, Australia. We got into CS about a year ago when we spent some time bludging, visiting metal festivals and dabbling in our various dorky creative pursuits in Europe... Now that we're back home, we want to do some hosting ourselves!

LEO:

As far as I'm aware, I'm a person, have been as far back as I can remember. I have arms and legs. Like every other person in the world I am absolutely unique. My main interests at the moment are music (metal, rock, alternative), and reading. I now work part-time and spend much of the rest of the time learning guitar (and drinking coffee). I also often like interacting in a social way with other like-minded humans.

ZHENYA:

Because I'm lazy, I'll have to settle for expressing my 'uniqueness' in the form of a list ;) My current interests include, in no particular order, writing, making tea, seeing metal bands, feminism, fantasy books, badminton (I'm pretty crap though), beer and reading philosophy magazines. Oh and also making mojitos and black ink pen drawings. I also like cycling and yelling at aggro drivers (so many in our area, sigh). Ok, and meeting other humans, too.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

We hosted some awesome people early last year, and surfed in each of the countries we went to in Europe!

Interests

LEO:

Music - especially metal, alternative (learning guitar, keyboard/piano)
Reading books (fantasy, Stephen King, discovering new authors)
Some sports (tennis, table-tennis)

ZHENYA:

Reading and writing (especially fantasy); metal; Dr Who; philosophy and social theory; baking; travel; meeting new people, foods and beers.

Music, Movies & Books

LEO:

I'm pretty open-minded in terms of the music that I like (as long as it's metal!!!)
My favourite movies include LOTR, The Green Mile and Doctor Who *not a movie but close enough*. Also Sharknado. You can't go wrong with a tornado full of sharks!

ZHENYA:

Favourite books: always changing! Right now (haha a year ago! I may not have updated this for a while but stuff it, these books are still amazing!)...maybe Disgrace (Coetzee); The Book of Daniel (Doctorow); Never Let Me Go (Ishiguro); and The Left Hand of Darkness (Le Guin). Oh and of course, LOTR and the Silmarillion.

Music: metal, metal and some stuff other than metal. Bob Dylan, Meatloaf and Elvis are some personal favourites.

Favourite movies: Donnie Darko; Little Vera, Everything is Illuminated, can't remember any more, memory fail!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

LEO:
Been to Galapagos Islands and seen the giant tortoises and turtles (I get them mixed up).

ZHENYA:
Hiking to glacial lakes in Patagonia (on a diet of dulce de leche, bread and red wine)...the stillness and blueness of the ice.

What I Can Share With Hosts

At risk of engaging in some pretty blatant bribery, we would have to say FOOD! We like to cook for our hosts. And also for ourselves when we are back home. As long as you don't mind eating vegetarian-style we can share our cooking skills with you ;)

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Peru, Romania, Russian Federation, Spain, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Germany, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see leo-and-zhenya's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile