Leonie Deaves's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Leonie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian
  • 48, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Retail Asset Manager
  • No education listed
  • From Near Newcastle in NSW
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

Married, love to travel particularly in Europe.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Met some backpackers in Italy who told me about couch surfing and got curious. Although I'm very happily married, (25 years) I've found that I prefer to travel on my own from time to time. I get more opportunities to meet people and do stuff I would never have had the chance to do if I was travelling with others. My husband totally gets my need to occasionally run away and feed my soul. I like to explore places rather than just go to the tourist spots (although I do that too). I like to be flexible and be able to change my plans depending on the opportunity in front of me. Travel means more to me than just seeing a place. I like to immerse myself in the culture, food, wine, language and local customs.

Interests

Horses, travel, hiking, cooking, drinking good wine and meeting people with similar interests.

  • animals
  • dogs
  • horses
  • culture
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • running
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing

Music, Movies, and Books

Historical romance novels... Yeah I know... Soppy right!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think I'm still waiting to do something amazing... But I do random stuff all the time.... Like chasing a horse and cart through the back streets of Lucca in Italy on a push bike just so I could pat a horse or stopping an old man on a bike cause he had a cute dog in a basket. Language never seems to be a barrier. And if it is, I can usually make do with Google translate! I'm a bit of a nutty animal lover I think. I definitely miss my animals when I travel so tend to look for temporary replacements while I'm away. Animals are a great ice breaker!

Teach, Learn, Share

Local knowledge of Brisbane and Gold Coast.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Friendly, happy, well mannered and easy going. I fit in pretty much anywhere. I've travelled a large portion of Australia from out back sheep stations, across the Nullabor to Western Australia and all up the Eastern Coast of Australia from Port Douglas in North Queensland to Victoria. I like to cook and share stories and have a laugh over a good bottle of wine.

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Solomon Islands

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Leonie’s full profile. It’s free!