Les Stagg

Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Les’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Professor
  • Post-Graduate
  • From Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


To get back into travel after many years of being unable to


I have been a teacher for 40 years, teaching children with special needs and teaching at the university level. I am a school psychologist and learning consultant too. I have been too busy to travel much, but as I slow down in my professional activities I want to get back in practice of traveling to as many parts of the world I can. I enjoy hiking, cooking, scuba diving, biking, motorcycling, meeting people, volunteering, geocaching, and a wee bit of writing. I am young at heart and consider one's age as only a number; I have many more years to go before I think of myself as "old".


I really have three aspects to my philosophy. 1. Treat people with kindness, respect, and generosity. 2. Work hard and be responsible. 3. Live in the moment and treasure each day as a gift.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I don't have (at this time) an opportunity to offer my home for hosting, although I hope to change that in the next year or so. So at this time, I can only surf. When I am able to change that I will update my profile.




Photography, hiking

Music, Movies, and Books

Classic Rock music is my favourite, but I'm quite eclectic. I don't see many movies, but might be interested when I have more time. I enjoy a wide variety of novels; it depends on how it clicks when I start reading it. I enjoy travel books and books that have large amounts of non-fiction information.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I swam with a whale shark. Whale sharks are the largest fish in the ocean and are "gentle giants" (they have baleen not teeth). A small group of us found a whale shark sunning itself at the surface so we put on our snorkel gear and swam with it for about a half hour before it decided to dive into the depths. I was within 6 feet of this marvellous animal for much of that time.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a life-long learner. I will continue to learn until the day I die and I want to learn whatever someone else is willing to offer. I am also a talented teacher who has much to share regarding education, caring for others, special needs, relationship skills, counselling, appreciative inquiry, and many other areas of interest.

Countries I’ve Visited

United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Les’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups