Leury Mella's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 23 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Leury’s full profile.

Overview

  • 4 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish; learning French, Portuguese
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2018
  • Student
  • Universidad Tecnológica
  • From Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I consider myself a very respectful and unbothered person. TELEGRAM @yruel
At times I can be quite reserved and introvert (so Let's say I'm kinda getting out of my comfort zone here) I have fun in my own way. I love culture in general as I'm always willing to know new places and their custom.

In my free time I usually enjoy biking, reading, walking as sightseeing, good at solving sudoku puzzle, listening local podcasting and some international ones, watching and attend sport matches.

No, I'm not the average Dominican or Caribbean girl, I'm not into either dancing or drinking, I can give dancing a try at times but can't guarantee a nice experience for your legs *insert recorded laugh*, I also drink casually (not much, sometimes none depending on current mood and peers vibe).

My favorite quote was told and written by Eleanor Roosevelt "Nobody can offend you without your consent" and I try to live it up to the fullest and embrace it.

Warning: I can be a little sarcastic and playful at times. I ridiculously smile a lot. Disclaimer: does not mean I am happy all the time

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been traveling around and I was told that this was an affordable and nice way to know places and people (hoping this is true) Update: Ok it is.

Interests

  • movies: independent, comedies, drama, cartoons.
  • food: asian, mexican, criolla
  • music: rock, indi, tecno, latin, salsa, rap
  • languages: portuguese, french, spanish and english
  • sports: basketball, tennis, volleyball, baseball

Music, Movies, and Books

I like independent films and also comedies, I love watching series and documentaries ,
Some of them: The intouchable, Cafarnaum, Lion, Hotel Mumbai, Todas as rações para esquecer Room, The sky is pink, Matilda, all the X-men ones, Jumanji, We are the Millers, Central Brasil etc.... (I do not watch a lot of scify or anime but I'm ok with it)
Sitcoms: When they see us, The Middle, The goldbergs, Dexter, Fresh of the boat, Física o Quimica

My latest favorite sitcoms have been Money Heist, Atypical, Merlí, 3% ... I also like cartoons (mainly all the nickelodeon and Cartoon networks one) 90's kid over here yeyyyy :p

I'm into listening Alternative, Indie and rock music in general, not specific bands or songs but I used to be a Paramore, Foofighters and Greenday fangirl if that can serve as a reference. Also like Rihanna, The fray, Snow Patrol, Kings of leon, BEP, Leona Lewis, Monarchy, Phoenix.
Spanish bands and artist such as
El cuarteto de nos, Carlos Sadness, Amigos invisibles, Rayden, Alex Ferreira, NX Zero, Paulinho Moska, Beto Cuevas, Pablo Cavalo, Toque Profundo, Rakin y KenY, Don Miguelo, Don Omar, Covi Quintana, Kudai, Tan Bionica, Entrelineas, Benjamín Walker, Miranda, Alex Anwandter, Kany Garcia, Lenine, Javiera Mena, Sebastian Romero, Belanova, Los Petit Fellas, La vida Boheme, Alejandro Sanz, Alejandro y Maria Laura, Denver, La bien querida,

I don't have any specific favorite books,I just read a lot depending on my current interest, from blogs to Newspapers, Magazines and even the odd habit of reading Instructions 'cuz I like to learn and know about how things work accurately in general.

Teaching, Translating and taking language related MOOCs has become my latest thing to do during the quarantine and catching up with series, ppl and stuff I couldn't do or get together with due to work and willingness

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Last year (2017) I did this paragliding thing twice , it was crazy, frightening and risky but fun and something I'm not used to doing.

I once got lost and walk more than 5km from /to home.

Teach, Learn, Share

We can practice any of the languages that I know or get lost together around the city, you also get a free trial time of me as a photographer and walking partner :p

What I Can Share with Hosts

Although I'm not hosting at the moment, I can share Culture, language practice( Spanish, English, Portuguese) , share my list of alternative music playlist / movies / cheap and fancy places to visit suggestions , sport talk (basket, tennis), good food spot advice, a resilient walking partner etc... If I'm not broke enough I can invite you a drink or a cup of coffee at a nice place.

Sometimes I co-host a language club regularly held at the colonial zone at an old museum housing. (I can send you the info about this activity through PM or Telegram (You may come across with some event here once in a while) since it is not allowed to add any direct links on this platform ) (already got banned for this :p) .

On the same note, find me on TELEGRAM as @yruel as I don't like to provide my direct phone number or whatsapp (maybe later on, no mean to be uncool or a lame b**chy ass) but I found it better and safer this way.

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, Dominican Republic, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Dominican Republic, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Leury’s full profile.

My Groups