Logo orange

Lexie Davis

Los Angeles, CA, USA

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lexie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 20 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Dutch, French
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • No occupation listed
  • university
  • From Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

Born & raised in Los Angeles. I spent 4 years studying in (upstate) New York, and got my bachelor's a year ago in Film & Electronic Arts and French Studies. I spent this past year living in a tiny town in the north of France, where I taught English to French kiddos. Now I'm back in LA for the summer, working at an art museum, so if you want to meet up, let me know!

PHILOSOPHY

"My candle burns at both ends
It will not last the night;
But ah, my foes, and oh, my friends -
It gives a lovely light."
~Edna St. Vincent Millay

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've surfed in most of the countries I've been to. Norway, Belgium, the Netherlands, the UK, France, Iceland, Canada, Sweden, Switzerland, Austria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, and Poland. I also went to a few events in Paris when I was living there.

Hoping to start hosting once I have a permanent place to live! Right now I'm living out of my suitcase.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I Couchsurf because I realized that when I travel, what sticks with me are the people I meet rather than the places I go. I've met some amazing people through Couchsurfing, and have been very lucky to have only had good experiences so far.

If you read this article I wrote for my mom's blog, you will hear of some of the wonderful experiences I've had while surfing:

http://onadimeadventure.com/14-reasons-why-couchsurfing-is-the-best-only-way-to-travel/

Interests

Things I love: tea, good wine that people's parents give me, cheap wine that I buy myself from the supermarket, cheese, fairy tales and mythology, Christmas markets, the smell of firewood burning, midnight sun, summer rain, talking to people who aren't boring (sometimes they're difficult to find), staying up LATE.

I'm always interested in meeting new people, and having a great conversation, especially when paired with wine/beer/coffee/tea.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: folk music, gypsy jazz (like Django Reinhardt). I love musicians who have unusual (maybe some would say "ugly") voices (i.e. Bob Dylan, Joanna Newsom). I'm not super knowledgable about music, so please educate me!

Books: So many! Russian novels especially (I really love the Russian sense of humor), Stefan Zweig, William Faulkner, Virginia Woolf...I try to read books translated from all around the world. There are lots of great (used & new) bookstores in LA (and some with books in different languages, mostly Spanish, French, and German) so if you want a rec, I can help you out with that!

TV: Borgen, House of Cards, Orange is the New Black, Game of Thrones.

Movies: Ingmar Bergman is my all-time favorite director, and I also love anything Czech or French New Wave, Hollywood comedies from the 30s/40s...I studied film in college, so I could go on and on and on. If you're a film nerd, there are some awesome retrospective movie theaters in LA that I'd be happy to tell you about!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

When I was seven, I watched my baby brother being born. Pretty amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you American slang, American slang that my dad uses and is now no longer cool, how to make a very good salad dressing, how to make great sangria in summer and great spiced wine in winter, a bit about arts & culture. I can tell you a lot of great places to go in LA. If you're going to continue traveling throughout California, I can suggest some amazing, underrated places to visit throughout the state, especially if you like camping & hiking.

Teach me some words in your language and laugh at my pronunciation, teach me where to go in your city so that I don't end up in the tourist bar sitting next to a British stag party. I'd love to learn how to garden too because I have a black thumb (opposite of a green thumb -- I kill everything I plant). Teach me about wine so I can pretend to be cultured the next time I'm at a fancy dinner.

I can share whatever I have! And those immaterial things too (like good vibes, good conversation).

What I Can Share With Hosts

(Also what I can share with guests!)

Conversation, questions, a home-cooked meal (I know a lot of vegetarian/vegan recipes as well), fun and carefree spirit, willingness to jump into any adventure, go with the flow attitude. I can answer all your questions about America that begin with "In the USA do you REALLY________?"

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lexie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile