Kate Hinke's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kate’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 67, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • U.S. Team Representative with Compassion for Migrant Chil...
  • MBA in Economic Development; B.A.--English, French, History
  • From Oklahoma City, OK
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I have a passion for China & her people, for microenterprise development among the poor throughout the world, and for helping international students/scholars/visitors.

ABOUT ME

I'm a young 60, having just finished my MBA in December 2009 at a school 3,000 miles from home while my dear husband held down the fort and supported me from afar! We have one married daughter. We are very involved in helping international students/visiting scholars, and have a special interest in people from China. I don't ever plan to retire, and will continue learning until I die. Right now I'm studying Mandarin and looking forward to my fourth trip to China.

We're rather quiet people in the evenings--just enjoy reading, practicing music, emailing friends. My husband is a computer scientist with NASA.

PHILOSOPHY

We are Christ followers, but would never push our faith down anyone's throat. We are simply called to love people and help them wherever we are. We don't mind taking risks to follow our hearts & passions--my husband went back to school for his Ph.D. at 39. One of our favorite sayings is, "A ship in the harbor is safe--but that's not what ships were built for."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Just a newbie at this--looking forward to sleeping on someone's couch as well as offering mine.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Have stayed with friends at various times, and have also hosted friends (both new & old). LOVE learning about other cultures & people's lives!

Interests

Love cats, dogs, birds & most anything with fur or feathers.
Play the piano, lever harp & concertina.
Love to read, write, knit, spin & weave.
Learning Japanese Kumihimo braiding.
Love to travel & have been to China several times, as well as many European countries, Canada & Mexico.
Love learning about other cultures!

  • cats
  • dogs
  • birds
  • reading
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • music
  • piano
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Celtic, Contemporary Christian, Bluegrass, Blues music.
Movies--Husband actually really loves "chick flicks"! Not much for violence.
Books: Favorite reads include The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Society, China in the 21st Century, Leaving Microsoft to Change the World, Banker to the Poor.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Went to China at the age of almost 54, living & studying there for three months.

Teach, Learn, Share

Would love to learn more Japanese Kumihimo weaving, and also practice Mandarin.

Could teach knitting/crocheting, spinning, weaving.

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Kate’s full profile. It’s free!