Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Accepting Guests

  • 34% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see LISSAMPHIBIAN’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French; learning Sign Language - American
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Occupational Therapist, Traveller, & Daydreamer
  • M.Sc. Occupational Therapy (completed); The School of Tra...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey there, my name is Alissa!* I completed grad school a couple years back and subsequently decided to take an extended leave of absence from my hometown of Montreal. I bought myself a one-way, multi-destination ticket that took me through California, Australia and New Zealand, leaving the city I had known my whole life to spend 6+ months on the other side of the world with a backpack, a ukulele, and a working holiday visa.

I have since landed in British Columbia and got stuck. As it turns out, a life in the mountains is a life for me, and it has yet to get old. After a long summer working away in Whistler, I made my way down to the city to try this "adult" thing just to see if I could -- and kind of, sort of, took a liking to it. (Gasp!) While I'm still unsure what the future holds and where I'll end up, travelling as much as my bank account will allow is a top priority.

I love to laugh, to strike up conversations with people everywhere I go, and to immerse myself in situations beyond my comfort zone. I'll try almost anything once (just crossed sky-diving off the to-do list - terrifying but incredible) and always try to make the best out of any situation. I was bitten by a serious travel bug on my first trip overseas a few years ago, so I'll take any opportunity for adventure.

*I know I've written a lot, but this is in the first line! It's not a trick.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I haven't yet had the pleasure of hosting in Vancouver, but I did back home in Montreal and it was a wonderful experience that resulted in some lifelong friends. I'm still pretty new to Vancouver, so while I can show you some of my favourite spots so far, I'm also keen to explore new ones together!

I have met some great locals and stayed with some amazingly generous people in Europe and more recently in Australia. This site has helped me to meet some great people everywhere I go!

As a surfer, I will always be respectful, clean and appreciative of other people's homes. I can be very independent and don't mind touring on my own, but I'd also love some company or tips on great places to visit. Of course I'll return the favour should you ever visit my wonderful city!


People, literature & libraries, film, photography, making music, dancing, languages, rock-climbing, making snowmen, desserts, knitting, kickboxing, mountain biking, laughing 'til I cry, tea, hockey, parties, exploring, swimming, kayaking, hiking, baking, chocolate, singing in the shower, getting lost and reading maps, bear hugs, sunshine, and... travelling!

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, When Harry Met Sally, Magnolia, Away We Go, Fight Club, High Fidelity.

Music: Noah and the Whale, The Black Keys, Arcade Fire, Slow Club, The Temper Trap, The New Pornographers, Phoenix, Local Natives, A Fine Frenzy, Broken Bells, Jack Johnson, Jeremy Fisher, Dr. Dog, Fleet Foxes, Gotye, Lisa Mitchell, Kate Nash, She & Him, Vampire Weekend, James Taylor, The Beatles, MGMT, Bob Dylan, City and Colour, Eliza Doolittle, Ingrid Michaelson, John Mayer, Mumford & Sons, Phish, Queen, Regina Spektor, The Killers, Weezer...

Books: Into the Wild; Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance; On the Road. Anything by Chuck Palahniuk, Margaret Atwood, Steig Larsson, Tom Robbins.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Riding a camel in Israel's Negev Desert in the rain. My first pretty magical moment overseas, and one I'll never forget.
Leaping from a plane at 14,000 feet off the coast of Byron Bay, Australia.
Discovering the breathtaking beauty of the Great Barrier Reef.

Teach, Learn, Share

If you don't know what it is, ask me about occupational therapy! I love to spread knowledge about my field as it's still rather unknown (don't worry, you're not the only one) but can be a really important and meaningful for different people.

I can teach you a song on the flute or the ukulele, how to solve a Rubix cube, how to make amazing sandwiches (my specialty), how to (unintentionally) keep library books far past their due dates, or how to knit yourself something cozy.

I'd love to learn a new language, how to do a cartwheel (for those occasional moments I feel so happy that I just want to project myself through the air), how to tap dance and how to throw pizza dough... Or any other skill you'd like to share.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, Croatia, England, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Slovenia, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, Ireland, Israel

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see LISSAMPHIBIAN’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups