Priscilla & Morton Houliston's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 11 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Priscilla & Morton’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, English; learning German, Italian
  • Unspecified age, Other
  • Member since 2007
  • Writing, photograper, web design
  • College, but mostly life & the first day of our two-y...
  • From Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

We are on a 16,000 mile bicycle ride & walk around America. It will take two years, in which time I will shed 250 pounds (I have lost over 130 my first year) We also want to encourage EVERYONE to get at least 30 minutes exercise daily. Watch us!

ABOUT ME

Priscilla - 44, female, happily married to the most supportive husband on the planet.

Morton - 40, male, also happily married to the craziest wife on the planet.

We come from opposite sides of the Atlantic, Morton is from Edinburgh, Scotland.

For the next two years we are sleeping in a different place ALMOST every night, as we explore the coastlines and borders of America.

Our trip has been amazing in the first four months and 2,000 plus miles. The things we are seeing are terrific, but the people we are meeting will be friends forever. It is just BRILLIANT!

PHILOSOPHY

Share what you have with others, ALWAYS! Treat people with respect and NEVER, EVER, under any circumstances, judge a book by it's cover. You don't have to look far to see miracles, you just have to look.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We have JUST found out about this incredible site. I plan on putting it up on our page (a link) to get the 250,000 people a day that are watching our trip, turned on to CS! What a concept!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We have had a LOT of it since starting our journey in January. We have learned that not only is it OK to talk to strangers, it's OK to sleep on their sofa, floor, backyard and even a spare bedroom.

Interests

Walking, bicycling, painting, writing, photography, music, learning new things, TRAVEL, animals, nature, camping, cooking, gardening

  • animals
  • writing
  • books
  • design
  • photography
  • cooking
  • exercise
  • running
  • walking
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • painting
  • music
  • camping

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - Everything from classical to what you hear coming out of Mp3 players. Movies - something that actually has a plot, good filming and a cast that can act. We also LOVE foriegn films. It is a great way to peek inside other cultures. Books - anything that isn't a romance novel. Love books on travel, history, biography and current issues.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The end of our first day walking from Key West to Key Largo. 90 degree temps, running out of water and no place to sleep, when we finally put the tent up beside the Gulf of Mexico after walking over 15 miles, I knew we were going to make the two year trip. Nae probs!

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to paint, just have my watercolors with me. I also have a bit of skill with the computer (web design) and would be keen to help anyone we stayed with. My husband, Morton, is an INCREDIBLE cook and is also an ex-landscape gardner. We are not shy of hard work and would love to muck in and help with a project!

Countries I’ve Visited

Italy, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Priscilla & Morton’s full profile. It’s free!