Logo orange

Shannon Todd

Fremont, California, United States

Wants to Meet Up

Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shannon's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English; learning Portuguese, Spanish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Public Servant
  • BA English UCLA, next up MS Justice ...
  • From Santa Rosa, California. The home of Charlie Brown
  • Profile 45% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Live, Love, Learn

ABOUT ME

I am a quirky, conservative, lesbian, idealist/realist, imagineerist, progressive traditionalist, buddhist, thinking cop daughter of two loving hardworking hippies. The sister of a fierce Irish temper and a huge heart. A friend, a lover, a listener, an observer by nature, a bridge builder. I am a wallflower and a social butterfly all at once. I love to live, I love to learn, I love to love.

PHILOSOPHY

My philosophy is best captured by Shakespeare's All's Well That Ends Well "Love all, trust a few, do wrong to none." In fact that quote is my next planned tattoo.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

As of November 2011 I'm new to this, so I haven't started participating yet. My partner, Marianne, is hesitant to invite strangers in to our home to stay(understandably), but I am eager to at least share coffee, a meal or a hike with some bay area visitors.

I hope to stay with some of you surf hosts as a traveler here and again. It sounds like an amazing adventure to potentially meet so many like minded, free spirits. Again, Marianne is hesitant about this, but we'll see what happens in our travels.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None so far.

I've stayed in youth hostels when money was short in past travels and loved the experience. I'm fortunate enough to make a decent living wage now, so while it is no longer a necessity to find a 'cheap' alternative, it still sounds fun.

Interests

I love to hike, camp or anything outdoorsy. I love playing and watching sports. I played basketball, softball and soccer in HS and a little bit of rugby in college. I've practiced Muy Thai and Krav Maga.

The newest hobby Ive picked up is road cycling. It is very new to me. You see, a friend of mine had just completed the AIDS Life Ride this past June and was telling me how great it was. It is a cycling trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles, quite a feat! I told him it sounded like a great experience, and that I would love to do it someday. Mind you, while I'm a fan of mountain biking, I haven't ever ridden a road bike before. The Monday after our conversation, I received an email saying I have been signed up for the Life Ride! So, like with so many other things, I will figure out how to swim by being thrown in to the icy cold water. I'm excited!

My father is an artist by trade, and while I got none of his actual carving tallent, I think I have a pretty good artistic eye, and need to get a nice camera to start creating my own vision of reality.

I live and work in a very concentrated Portuguese community, so I would like to start learning the language so that I might be a bit more relavent and in touch with the culture I live in.

I like to read, and of course, to travel.

Music, Movies & Books

I like to read non fiction mostly, and about religion, but the classics always have a place in my heart.

Glancing at the movies I can see from here, a few of my faviortes (though there are so many more):

Fight Club
Super Troopers
Zombieland
Sean of the Dead
The Hangover
GI Jane
Tank Girl
Amelie
Little Miss Sunshine
Napoleon Dynomite
Rent
Goonies
Never Ending Story
Full Metal Jacket
Bucket List
Top Gun
Clueless
Romey and Michelle's HS Reunion
Boondock Saints
Gremlins
Anything Woody Allen
Most musicals

Glancing at my iTunes briefly (again, many more):
Sublime
Bob Marley
Flogging Mollies
Young Dubliners
Drop Kick Murphys
Nirvana
Johnny Cash
Lady Gaga
Dixie Chicks
Cake
Reel Big Fish
Journey
Alabama
Frank Sinatra
Jason Mraz
Sinead Oconner
Michael Jackson
Ragina Spektor
Sugerland
Adelle
Maroon 5

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I hope to see the seven wonders of the world in this lieftime.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a passion for the law. Always enjoy teaching, and sharing what I know and love learning more.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Mexico, Portugal, Spain, Thailand, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Shannon's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile