Maartje de Meer's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maartje’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • editor, waitress
  • I studied Anthropology & went to Knowmads business sc...
  • From Maastricht
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

My name is Maartje, I'm 28 years old. After studying Anthropology and working at a magazine + website on sustainability and international relations, I decided to finally figure out why I kept losing energy and what my dreams really are.
The past 1,5 years have been full of growing and learning. I helped organize neighborhood dinners around the city, went to an alternative creative business school, worked at a fair + sustainable smartphone start-up company, and more. Currently I'm working as a waitress. I'm discovering more and more what my place is in the world & how I can have a positive impact on it. And of course: sometimes I have no clue what I'm doing. And that's fine, too.

I love cooking and sharing a meal, going for walks in the park next to my house, cycling, the spilled milk podcast, when it's spring and everything is in bloom, long conversations, evenings spent with friends, the chinese food at Sechuan here in Amsterdam, Leonard Cohen, and much much more.

I made a couchsurfing account years ago and had some wonderful experiences travelling myself, and now I finally have the space to host others.

--> I'm currently not verified because I don't have a Credit Card or Paypal account. Will arrange it once I'm back from a trip to Israel!
--> You can just send me a message though, and I'll e-mail you my number if you for example want to check that I'm a real human through sending a text/whatsapp message :-).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on couchsurfing to get to know people when travelling, and to be able to travel and sleep on a budget. I'd like to offer others the same: a warm welcome and home in a foreign city.

Interests

  • dancing
  • cooking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • cycling
  • social science
  • food
  • people
  • learning
  • media
  • connection
  • social entrepreneurship

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook you dinner! And do the dishes. If you need help with a piece of text, I can help you out too.

Mostly, I think I'm the kind of guest who adapts easily and feels comfortable in a new place. I find it important that you feel comfortable and happy in your own home. And if you have time I am always up for a glass of wine or a beer, good conversation, a shared meal, a walk, and more. I'd love to get to know you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Ethiopia, Laos, Malaysia, Paraguay, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, Israel, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Maartje’s full profile. It’s free!