Logo orange

Kathrin Kreutzkamp

Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kathrin's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 15 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Ancient Greek, French, Latin
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Teacher
  • Masters Degree in Education and Engl...
  • From Iserlohn, a small city an hour north of Cologne, Germany
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

impress myself

ABOUT ME

After graduating from University I bought a ticket to Oz and had te most wonderful CS-experiences. I'm open-minded and love meeting people from all over the world so Couch Surfing is the way to go. Currently I spend a lot of time on my teacher training but I usually have some spare time to show you around. Dortmund is a pretty cool city, not just a world-class soccer team ;-)

If you want to see me smiling,
just join me for an Open Air cinema session //
for sailing or canoeing on a lake or the Ijsselmeer //
or just tell a really dirty joke ;-)

PHILOSOPHY

“May those who love us, love us; and those who don't love us, may God turn their hearts; and if he doesn't turn their hearts, may he turn their ankles so we'll know them by their limping.”
-Irish Blessing

“The only man who behaves sensibly is my tailor; he takes my measurements anew every time he sees me, while all the rest go on with their old measurements and expect me to fit them.” George Bernard Shaw

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Joined lots of events with Couch Surfers in Germany and Sydney.
Surfed in Sydney a couple of times, organized some events and surfed a lot when travelling up the East Coast. Even hosted here when I came back to Germany.

Interests

sailing (or spending time teaching kids how to sail)/cooking dinner for my friends and family and watching them being happy together/ meeting old friends or interesting strangers/ thinking about life while swimming laps or going for a run/ sitting on a boat, reading, while the only things you can hear are the sea and some seagulls/ Physyolates open air on a sunday morning/ watching Sundance-Film-Festival-type movies in really old fashioned cinemas

Music, Movies & Books

movies: Bridget Jones I, Kill Bill, The King's Speech, Bin Jip, The Godfather, Kirschblüten Hanami, Romeo and Juliet, Juno, Die fabelhafte Welt der Amelie, The Shape of Things, Center Stage but also a lot of TV, I guess (Dr House, Gilmore Girls, QI- Quite interesting)

books: Faust, Hamlet, King Lear, Me and Mr Darcy, Jane Austen, Max Goldt, Kate Chopin, Virginia Woolf and Gertrude Stein

Music: Lots of German stuff like Ina Müller, Wir sind Helden and Wise Guys,Paul Kalkbrenner but also Soundtracks (really liked "Up in the air" or "Kill Bill") or Norah Jones/Katie Melua , also classic (will watch the Last Night of the Proms in London's Hyde Park in 2011)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

celebrating St Patrick's Day in Dublin with Erasmus friends from the Netherlands, France and the USA was pretty fantastic - dressing up in green, drinking Guinness and having lots of fun...

walking home at night, barefoot along the beach, after an amazing evening with my friends at a Karaoke-Bar in a village on Malta, watching the reflections of the fireworks in the sea...

White Night 2077 in Rome, artists from the Cirque du Soleil performing and the ancient Roman historical sights in the background

horse riding at Cape Tribulation

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to share my knowledege about German food (bratwurst and real german potato salad , yummi!)
I am also pretty good at sailing if anyone needs some help with that. (knots and stuff)
I actually would not mind helping you with just regular household duties. as ironing and cleaning windows are secret passions of mine. ;-)
I would love to improve my English and just meet interesting people who got to tell a story :-)

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Italy, Malta, Netherlands, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Germany, Ireland

Join Couchsurfing to see Kathrin's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile