Logo orange

Lorna Mungur

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lorna's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 24 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Creole, Portuguese
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • student and traveler
  • Currently doing a Masters degree in ...
  • From Laval, Qc, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Have a life despite graduate school!

ABOUT ME

I am a Canadian girl, who grew up right outside of Montreal, in the French part of the country. I was born in Mauritius, but my family moved to Canada when I was one year old.
I am an optimistic person, I like to try new things and I constantly need to have new experiences. Despite this, I am very organized! I try to stay positive, see the good in people, and enjoy life despite the stressful parts.

PHILOSOPHY

Do what makes you happy, have no regrets, and freedom is the only thing that really matters!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I want to meet travelers, get to know them and show them around Montreal. I also wish to meet locals when I travel, because it is such a more personal way of traveling. I started hosting a few months ago, and I accept request specifically when I know I will have time to spend with my surfers.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I first started to use couchsurfing a lot when I spent several weeks in Lisbon on my own. Because of the project, I met amazing people! I met locals and fellow travelers who became very good friends of mine. They made my time in Lisbon very special. I have hosted a few times, and I want to try surfing on my next trip.

Interests

I love traveling, reading a good book and watching funny sitcoms. I like to sleep, a lot. I love animals, especially cats. I enjoy good food, and love to discover new cuisines with a nice glass of wine.I am really into tattoos. I study history at university and I absolutely love it. I am kinda nerdy, but I love to go out, have a good time with friends, and have a drink. I love to dance and I enjoy good music!

Music, Movies & Books

Books: The Lord of the Rings, Jane Austen novels, Albert Camus, Harry Potter books, Emile Zola, Fernando Pessoa,Alexandre Dumas, Carlos Ruiz Zafon, Georges Sand,Antoine de St-Exupery,Stendhal, The Bronte sisters, Romain Gary/Emile Ajar, history books.
Movies: the Breakfast Club,Woody Allen,The Cornetto trilogy, Lord of the rings, Amelie, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Big Fish, Bridget Jones' Diary, Monty Python, the Addams Family, Grease, and much more. Feel good, corny movies!
I like to watch tv shows: Community, Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones, Misfits, Friends, 30 Rock, How I Met your mother, Bones etc.
The music I listen to is all over the place. I enjoy cheesy 90s and 2000s music, hip hop, reggea,kuduro R&B, but also rock and electro.
Arcade Fire, Jay-Z, Kanye West, Wiz Khalifa, Leonard Cohen, Twin Shadow, Florence, M83, Diplo/Major Lazer, Frank Ocean, Brazilian music, Half Moon Run, John Legend, Lady Gaga, Missy Elliot, Mary G. Blige, MIA, etc.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Being in the mountains in India, I felt like the only person in the world!I consider every accomplishment to be important; we can't take anything for granted.
I consider the time I spent in Lisbon to have been amazing. Being there for 7 weeks, I managed to easily make wonderful friends. I had a great and intense
experience.

visited 15 states (6.66%)

Countries I've Visited

Brazil, Canada, Cuba, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, India, Jamaica, Mauritius, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Brazil, Canada, Portugal

Join Couchsurfing to see Lorna's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile