Lucas Smith's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lucas’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • professional job hunter, at present
  • The Evergreen State College
  • From Seattle, WA, USA
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

I am moving from Seattle to Milwaukee: I've heard repeatedly how cool Milwaukee is and Seattle has become economically untenable (read: I was priced out of my hometown), so I am changing scenery. I don't know quite what to expect, but I think it will be an adventure, whatever happens.
At first meeting someone, I am pretty quiet, but I warm up quickly. I like meeting people and get along with most everyone.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My friend in Chicago said that I can stay with her while I get set up in Milwaukee, however when I am on the hunt for jobs and apartments, I have nowhere to crash; I am hoping I can find some folks that would be willing to put me up for a few days at a time while I am jumping between cities.
I also want to get set up to be able to host at some point in the near future.

Interests

I love, love, love books: I read at a ruinous rate and one of the reasons that I am moving from Seattle is to find a place where it is more manageable to sustain my writing habit, financially. A scant few of my favorite authors: Mona Simpson, Don DeLillo, David Foster Wallace (yes, I am one of those people), Jorge Luis Borges.
I am also a bit of a movie junkie, though that tends to ebb and flow with my circumstances: I've been on the road for a month, so haven't had much time to keep on top of movies. I did recently watch Turtles Can Fly, the first Kurdish film--heartbreaking, but amazing.

  • writing
  • books
  • cooking
  • running
  • flying
  • movies
  • socializing
  • coding

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Tim Hecker, Godspeed, NMH, Lady Gaga, cvlts, Happy Birthday, S, Horseback, Kendrick Lamar--kind of all over the place. I like most witch house and noise, some metal (mostly drone). I wish I listened to more Gamelan, so if you are a fan, let me know.

Movies: Chinatown; 2001; Paris, Texas; Ratcatcher; Sans Soleil; anything Kurosawa, Yoko Ono (yep, I said that), or Agnes Varda; lately I have been watching Iranian films--Bahman Ghobadi, Majid Majidi, etc.-- and horror films (It Follows, Troll Hunter). And I just saw Dope: so, so good.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I worked at a collectively-run anarchist bookstore in Seattle, called Left Bank Books, for seven years.

Teach, Learn, Share

Is this question different than the one below? If someone really wants to learn how to code in C or Python, I could show you the basics, though not super advanced stuff. I can teach anyone English grammar or syntax; how to write better or read. That's it really: I'm a bibliobibuli through and through.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I don't know what folks are expecting in this section. I can wash dishes and help clean and cook, if that's what the question is asking: I am always willing to help out around the house. As far as knowledge, I am quiet at first, but get me talking about books and I can talk for weeks (consider yourself warned); to a lesser extent, this holds for foreign and arthouse movies also.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Italy, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lucas’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups